Families logo

mom and daughter

The good and bad things a mother teaches her daughter. I love my mom for every moment she had given me. I will never forget

By Laura mcleanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Dear MOM,

There were so many things left unsaid. I only wish you were still here so I could share all these moments with you. I have accomplished so many milestones, and I only wished you were still here so I could share them with you. Mom, you were the only person I could tell everything to, and I never had to worry about you judging me.

You were there for me no matter what I did or said. There were those times when you would choose your boyfriend over your kids, but you still were teaching me things. Things you never knew you were teaching me. Mom, you were the only person I looked up to, and I wanted to show I could do good.

Mom, If I only knew how much time I had with you. I would have changed a lot of things. I would have spent more time with you and allowed you to show me more things about being a parent. You inspire me every day, whether you are here or not, even though you would treat us, kids, poorly when you got with a new man.

There were many things that I wish I could change now, and maybe you would still be here. But you're not, and even though you are not, I still think about you all the time. With everything I do. I watch my kids grow up and think about what you would say to them as they get older. I cry most of the time when I think about you, but they are good tears.

You were always the one telling me not to let what anyone said hurt me. That the kids I grew up with were only jealous of me. Mom, you gave me so much good advice while I was growing up. At the time, I never listen to much of anything you said to me. I was a teenager, and I thought I knew it all.

You will always be one of the women I will always look up to and think you are a badass woman. You were in my life until I was 24, so I was grown, but my kids never got to know who you were and what you were like. I only wish they got the experience that I had with you.

I always tell them the things you would say to me while I was growing up. Through all our fights, we had, and I would always say mean stuff to you. Stuff like I hate you; I never want to talk to you ever again. Those are the things I always said because I was mad at you. I never meant any of it. I hope you know that now.

When life got hard, I always knew I could run to you. Any time I needed help, You were the one there. No matter if the guy you were with at the time wanted you to help me or not. You were always there. I missed the days when all I had to do was run to you, and you would try and help me or give me good advice for whatever I was going through at the time.

Now there are no more days like that anymore. I still look up to you. I try and do what I think you would want me to do. Even though there was more lousy time than good, I still looked forward to your advice and talked to you. The only thing running through my mind right now is how much I miss you and wish you were still here to watch your grandkids grow up.

If it were not for you, mom, I would not be the person I am today. You molded me into a good woman. I am happy that you were my mother. If it were not for you, I wouldn't be who I am today. I was an adult when you left me, and I took that hard. I strayed off the path you had left me on. It took me many years to get back on the path you had left me on. But I am now where you left me.

Your grandkids ask about you all the time, and I do my best to tell them. But it's hard for me to talk about you at times. It still hurts the way you left. All I have left of you are the memories and the encouragement you were always telling me I had.

Mom, the times you said you wished you were more like me always runs through my head. But mom, you were who you were so post-to-be. and you were good at it. You may not think you didn't show me much or teach me much, but mom, you did. You taught me the essential things in life. How to love and how to be loved.

You showed me how to cook and take care of a house. Everything you taught me, mom, is still with me today. You were and always will be my role module. And I love you for all the knowledge you left me with. I have shown my daughter many things you taught me. When I was younger, I always thought I was fat. I still do, but that is beside the point. But when I would always say I could not do things or I was fat, you would always tell me that I was a beautiful girl and never let anyone tell me different.

Mom, I love you and hope you are still teaching someone up in heaven what you taught me. I love you, and I know you are looking down on me every day.

Thank you, mom. I love you and miss you more every day. And no matter how much you taught me, I promise not to follow in your footsteps. I will make my own mistakes and learn from them just as well as my kids will do the same.

parents
1

About the Creator

Laura mclean

I would like to test my writing skills. try and see if I can make it any better. When I was in middle school I had a published pome I wrote. It's been so long I can't remember the title or the name of the pome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.