Families logo

Miracle Babies-2022-Precious Things Vol. 2

By FRANK? Piccolella

By FRANK? PiccolellaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Gypsy & Quinn pose.

What is most precious to you? We often overlook what is most precious to our hearts. External forces can block our minds and hearts As a species, we have many mental walls we erect, which keep the important stuff in the back of our minds. We must stay conscious of this and bring it to the forefront. When we experience a miracle, we must talk about it. Perhaps I'm a little late writing about this, but it must have needed time to come to a boil. Always, better late than never. The Twins are a miracle and deserve to be revered as such, My sassy little miracles.

Based on the above image it's hard to imagine that The Twins, Quinn and Gypsy were a measly two and a half pounds when they were born. There are mice as big as the girls. It was like holding two beanie babies against my chest, close to my heart. Never have I ever held newborns this small in my life. During the first month of their birth, they were rushed to a special children's hospital to settle in and grow. I was terrified to hold them. The babies seemed so fragile, like a vase in a box with a bowling ball. One ounce of weight pressed onto them could damage their frail bodies. I was afraid a freak wind gust would come into the hospital and blow them away. They were as small as a human could be, to survive. The parents were both worried for their little ones. Waiting out the first month until they stabilized was a very heartbreaking situation.

And that's about a month or so after their birthing.

It took over a month before we were able to even hold them. The first time they were held, I was filled with equal parts excitement and dread. For little hairless minis, they were quite cute and they were well-loved. As they lay close to my heart, my chest expands with every breath. The Twins slowly go up and down, carefully hearing my heartbeat. Our heartbeats were in syn. I was instantly connected to them, mind-melding accordingly. Handling them with care was the main objective, as was eating and pooping. With the fragility of the girls, I was glad they were at Winnie Palmer in Orlando.

Funny enough our apartment at the time had black mold and we were contacted to find new arrangements. Not quite an eviction but it's pretty much what it was. With just myself I had to gather things and move out, trying to rush back to the hospital. We were essentially homeless. It certainly felt like a rollercoaster ride that would never end. Good fortune finally shined upon us as we were invited to stay at the Ronald McDonald House adjacent to the hospital. This opportunity filled me with such gratitude, as we were before this, Lost. I knew if I just had some type of faith, we would get through anything. Now able to walk to go see the girls, we settled into our new living domicile. Quinn and Gypsy were on respirators for the first few months. Little Quinnie, especially had a hard time breathing and would go on to use a nebulizer. They stayed at the hospital for 3 months.

It warms the heart and belly to have Thanks, for the people and things in our lives. We met many families who lost a child. It seemed quite normal for a good portion of twins not to make it. It was very heartbreaking to receive a gift meant for a dead newborn twin. One could say a sense of melancholy washed over us. Bittersweet feelings shocked us like bolts of lightning coming down from the heavens. We shook at how many children didn't make it. We were being lucky, we were blessed.

We were thankful for the girls getting the care they needed at a special NICU. Things began to come together as we stayed strong and steady for The Twins. The accommodation with The Ronald McDonald house helped sustain us, as I drove back and forth to the Space Coast. It was exceptionally magical how things worked out. There was much to be grateful for. Grateful the girls kept growing and fighting, ever moving forward. Gypsy was rolling way before the nurses had predicted. She just couldn't sit still, and that holds strong to this day. So full of energy and curiosity. Quinn was the happiest and most chill baby I could ever ask for. She grew up to be sweet and thoughtful.

Please be thankful for all you have. It's all we have.

My miracle babies. Quinn & Gypsy. Not in that exact order.

childrendivorcedimmediate familyparentssiblings
Like

About the Creator

FRANK? Piccolella

I enact many a dad tax on my six yearold twin girls. I am a writer and visual artist. Trying to work harder on the business side now to. Horror is my life. When it isn't I read, write, and Arithmetic. Comics and music shall suffice as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gary Whiteheadabout a year ago

    You and Lauren are doing GREAT at raising these two Beauties!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.