Families logo

Marriage on fire

Chapter one

By Mike AndersonPublished 11 months ago • 7 min read
Like
Marriage on fire
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

đź“ť: MARRIAGE ON FIRE
.
.
.
CHAPTER ONE
.
.
.

"Baby, please I'm sorry." I pleaded as the skin belt touched my skin.

"You must learn by force, since you want it the hard way that you shall get." He warned as he raised the belt he twisted on his hand.

"I'm sorry, I won't repeat it again." I intensified my pleas but no, it wasn't working.

From every indication this man had made up his mind to béat me to his satisfaction and unless he gets what he had planned done he wouldn't stop at all.

All my tears and pleads fell on deaf ears, this man was heartless and continued b3ating like his life depended on it. Obinna– was his name, my husband wasn't a b3ast and monster like he was now.

Obinna and I went out for dinner and then I bumped into one of my old time mates, Tochukwu. He was my bestie when we were still in secondary school and we lost contact after we graduated from high school.

"Gee, how far na?" I greeted, hugged him and then did our secret handshake with him.

"Omo! Girl, I thought you had gone missing too!" Tochukwu said jokely.

"U no well, anyways meet my husband, Obinna. Tochukwu, my classmate." I introduced them both to each other.

"Nice meeting you." Tochukwu said extending a hand to him and instead of responding back, Obinna hissed and went inside.

I was amused by his sudden change of behavior, my husband from merely looking at him wasn't pleased with me and tochukwu. So I hastily ended the greetings with him and went inside to meet my husband. That entire dinner was sour and silent.

We ate quietly and even when crunching our meat, the bones didn't even make a sound. I knew my husband was angry at that moment and talking to him wasn't the best option at that time. So I resolved to talk to him when we were heading home, but that didn't work out because he shut me up without even allowing me to talk.

"So you now cheat on me openly?" He asked, taking me unaware as I was removing my earrings and cleaning my makeup.

"Honey, how can you say that kind of a thing? You know I would never cheat on you naaa!!" I answered him gently while facing the mirror.

Before I could say a word further, my husband gave me a lash on my back. I jerked up in pain and leaped up from the stool I sat on. He began wiping me continuously, I begged and begged but it wasn't working at all.

Concerned neighbors came to our aid but they couldn't get inside because he had doors closed. I kept trying to run away from him but he still kept chasing me like someone a bet had been placed on.

I allowed him to finish venting out his anger, and then I went to the kitchen to massage my injured body. Making a phone was impossible because my husband had my phone broken and my sms card burnt.

I pretended as if nothing had happened and still went inside, he demanded for s3x that same night after he had finished dealing with me. I tried explaining to him how weak and tired I was at that time but he wouldn't buy it.

Against my own wish, Obinna dragged me and ripped off my clothes. I tried protesting but his strength was no way compared to mine, since I couldn't fight, I allowed him to have his way without even feeling any form of pleasure, it was dry and disgusting to me.

Obinna and his friends were going to watch a football match today at our house. I was happy that I would have some minutes or probably an hour or so to rest from Obinna. They came over and the match started, since I wasn't a fan of football I just laid on the sofa with one of his friend's phone, Linglestown to be precise.

I was watching comedy skits on the phone and wasn't paying attention to what they were watching at all, and then the second one called me and I went, on reaching there I had to remove the earphones I wore and hear him out.

"Kasachi, who do you support? Arsenal or Chelsea?" He asked my opinion and I wasn't sure of the club my husband was into so I had to do a wild guess at that time.

I picked Arsenal over Chelsea and then Surprisingly Linglestown and Chidi outburst in joy and began throwing taunts at my husband.

Instead of getting angry, my husband grinned and told them to focus on the game they came to watch. I was less concerned about what they were doing and since I wasn't into football I refused airing a word inside beside the main reason why I chose Arsenal over Chelsea was because at that time they were already winning the match.

I couldn't guess which my husband was because we barely talked after he lost his multi million naira paying job and own work as an assistant media team head to a small company that wasn't paying him that well.

Then after the match had finished, they all came to the dining table to eat the meal I had prepared and had set the table waiting for them. I dished the food for everybody and then went to sit beside my husband as he had earlier instructed. He had warned me a day before they came to make sure I used makeup in covering all my wounds and also try to act as if he was the best husband ever.

I adhered to his instructions and acted as he wished, in front of everyone there we seemed to be one happy couple. He fed me and I gently, he also smooched my cheeks and with the way he was behaving his two friends couldn't help but giggle amongst themselves.

"Una won just use love oppress person, abeg make una take am easy before person go rush go marry!" Linglestown said jokily with his head bowed and still eating. I didn't find it funny but I had to laugh.

"That's how it is bro, you see my wife here, she's the best one can ever wish for!" He praised me in front of everyone and I chulked.

This man thinks he is wise, he was trying to convince his friends into believing we were actually happy in our home but the truth was far from what they saw there. They finished and decided to have their men's talk and then I retired into the room.

Unknowingly, to Linglestown and his friend, my husband, I had a Facebook account on his phone. I downloaded the opera mini app and hid it somewhere he wouldn't be able to open. For those of you who have android devices, if you're using Xos launcher, there's something like a hide app that appears once you use your two fingers to swipe up.

I chatted with that opera Facebook, on my ghost account as of then, I used a fake name and details. Everything about me there was fake and nothing there was real, not even my date of birth. On this particular account, I was known for writing short motivations and had a certain amount of followers but among all of my 18k followers, there was this particular one that always bugged me.

His messages could complete an entire word count for a novel, he was persistent and after some time, I finally accepted his message requests and we began having some conversations. I found his messages funny and enticing, especially the one he sent when I told him I was married.

He sent me a crying emoji, and also a sticker of himself in tears. And most times when I posted something very deep and sounded very amusing and pleasing. I chatted with him and got engrossed by the chat until I heard my name being summoned by the owner of the phone from the parlor and then I quickly rushed to give him his phone before my husband would get suspicious and begin to suspect something odd.

They greeted us good bye and zoomed off to their various destinations, I was downcast and my countenance began sour as I knew that I was returning back to that dark and gloomy atmosphere once more. My husband had entered before me and I was still outside, I forgot he had given me an instruction not to stand for long outside. According to him, I had only 5 minutes to spend outside. And because of how little the time frame was I could barely move out of the house to anywhere besides I had no friends in that city.

Obinna was already inside waiting for me, immediately I opened the door. He asked me to kneel down and walk on my knees until I reached where he stood and I obeyed humbly without even knowing my offense. I walked to where he was on my knees and then he asked me to choose between the watercane or the belt on the table.

I tried asking what I did this time around but I guessed I asked wrong because the answer I got wasn't pleasant at all, he gave me a resounding and mind setting slĂ p that left his five fingers showing visibly on my face.

I ended up picking the cĂ ne, when he was flogging me he told me the reason of me being caned and it was because of me not supporting his club and went ahead to support that of his friends because of that he was going to punish me and then he said my second offense was for using a phone in his house without his permission and then lastly because I refused saying when we were on the dining table.

He continued the humiliation until suddenly we heard a knock on the door and then he stopped and quickly went to get the door while I was still on my knees in the morning silently. I tried very hard to compress my pains but coming back this time around was very hurtful.

The person that came…..

marriedimmediate familyextended familydivorced
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.