Families logo

Mama's Miracle

Amazing Mae

By Deborah AmosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Beautiful Sunny Day

The date was March 23, 2008, Easter Sunday. It didn't feel like Easter. It will be another hundred years before Easter comes in March again, so I was told. While I was getting ready for church, I was listening to the Sunday morning preacher on T.V. This preacher mentioned that his mother went to be with the Lord twenty-five years ago on Easter. At that moment, I thought about my mother in the nursing home.

All sorts of thoughts were running through my head. Mama, you're not going to leave me today are you? Did you really pick this day to go home? I immediately released those unbearable thoughts out of my head. I decided to surprise my sister and visit her church. After service was over, I planned to have dinner with one of my dear friend. Then, I was going to spend the rest of the evening with Mama.

I was gazing at the clear blue sky, and admiring how bright the sun was shining at 3:00 p.m. on the glorious Sunday, when my cell phone rung. I said, "hello in my usual tone. The female on the other end said, "I am trying to reach Debbie." This is she," I said with fear and trembling in my voice. "You need to get to the nursing home right away, your mother just passed," she said without hesitation.

My mind, soul, and spirit were filled with all types of emotions. I felt like I should have been there when Mama took her last breath. I should have gone straight to the nursing home. The feeling of guilt overwhelmed me. I couldn't grasp the idea of my mother being gone. It was unreal. The tears began to flow like a broken dam.

When I arrived at Manor of Whitehall's parking lot, I was numb. I am not even sure how I made it there. I called my siblings on to get their voices mails. I left them that extremely difficult message. I was able to reach my friend that I was going to have dinner with. She met me at the nursing home.

I couldn't control the waterfall of tears as my friend embraced me tightly. Another friend that I had planned to meet that day as well was there too. They both were God sent. By them holding my arms, I mustered up enough strength to walk through the blurred double doors. Mama was my life. I didn't have anybody else. I only had Mama. I felt empty, abandoned, and alone. This can't be happening.

All family members and others showed. We had time to say good-bye to Mama before the funeral caretakers arrived. I kissed and stained Mama's cheekbones with my tears. I promised her that I would tell the world about her amazing life, and that I would see her soon. My youngest brother and only sister also cried. We stared at her lifeless body and her beautiful face. I didn't want to leave her.

I can only image hearing my incredible and remarkable mother saying, "No chains holding me. No more Alzheimer's disease. The captive have been set free! I am free!" I can her angelic voice singing, "If You Can See Me Now."

My prayers have all been answered

I've finally arrived

The healing that been delayed

Has been realized

If you can see me now

I am walking the streets of gold

I'm standing tall and whole

My sweet mother was abused as a child and teenager. She was sometimes mistreated as a wife. This courageous and tenacious woman was full of compassion for others. My mother's love was deeper than her pain. Her legacy will live on through her children. This incredible woman of God will never be forgotten. On November 1, 1935, in Bullock County Alabama, my AMAZING mother was born. My siblings and I have been tremendously blessed and highly favored to come from the womb of Mae Ida Walton-Amos, a woman of great faith and undying love.

The weather report for Mama's Home Going Service didn't look to promising. It was supposed to be cold and rainy. Our Heavenly Father had other plans. It was a day of celebration on earth as well as in heaven for his true soldier, general, mighty warrior, and faithful servant. The sun was shining just as bright as it was at 3:00 p.m. Easter Sunday, the exact time Mama received her Miracle.

Mae Ida Amos

parents
1

About the Creator

Deborah Amos

I have a B.A. in Communications Studies. Founder, Director of TAYS Intl. Writing is my passion. My first book is called, Amazing Mae. I am currently working on my second and third .book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.