Families logo

MAIMUNA

AN HAUSA FOLK TALE

By Salifu KoromaPublished 11 months ago 15 min read
1

MAIMUNA

AN HAUSA FOLK TALE

Once upon a time in a small village in the Hausa kingdom there lived a married couple, Danjuma and Halima. Danjuma was a hunter, while Halima was a trader she sold jewelries and clothes in the market. They were successful in their businesses. For they were well known in the entire village, everyone in that village was of the opinion that Danjuma and Halima had been blessed by Allah with everything anyone could ever wish for. Because they had great possessions and children even though they were only boys at least it shows that Halima is fruitful. Her mother-in-law ones said, but Halima was not satisfied she wished she had a daughter because she felt that a girl will be more helpful than the boys in doing house chores moreover she will be adorned with beautiful clothes and jewelries, oh how i wish i had a beautiful nyarnya, if i had a daughter at least she'll keep my company while I cook, she'll wear beautiful sayings and jewelries, oh how I wish she thought to herself. Halima got pregnant again but she gave birth to another bouncing baby boy, everyone around was happy and they all rejoiced except Halima yarrow again she thought irritated with herself. Her husband Danjuma are so reading her thoughts, said to her Halima Allah has blessed us again with another wonderful child you should accept your faith as the mother of boys perhaps Allah has destined for you to have only boys let's leave it as that, accept our faith and be thankful to Allah. Her husband admonished her not minding her husband's words this matter still disturbed Halima’s mind greatly she took care of her newborn son for some months and once he became stable on his little feet, the thought to have a baby girl came to her mind again. And so out of desperation to have a daughter she consulted a native priest who gave her some herbs and charms but then the priest gave a stunned warning, Woman nine months from now you shall give birth to the daughter you seek but you must remember this you must not choose for her who to marry for when the time is right she shall choose for herself, and when that one comes you must not hesitate to allow her to marry that one, do you agree with this conditional note I agree, I agree just let me have a baby girl as promised. I promised to keep to the agreement fact she replied. In her desperation to have a daughter she couldn't understand that the covenant she was entering into, at the time was a very dangerous one or at least she wasn't bothered about the consequences. for nothing else mattered and so it was that nine months later through to the priest's words.

Halima gave that to a beautiful baby girl, Halima was overwhelmed with happiness for she thought to herself ah at last now I have a Narnia, finally my dream has come true oh how fortunate I am to have this child, so she named her daughter Maimuna oh how beautiful. Maimuna was as a baby she was so adorable even as a toddler, everyone around her truly loved her for she was special. She wasn't like every other girl her age because she was very beautiful. Soon Maimuna grew into an extremely beautiful lady, she was a sinner of all eyes everyone in that village admired her beauty. All the men in that village wished they could marry her now that she is ripe for marriage suitors began to come to her parents to ask for her hand in marriage. The first person to come to her parents with a marriage proposal was her father's friend , his son Dan lady had informed him of his interests in Maimuna but when Danjuma informed Halima about this she humbly explained to her husband the reason they won't be able to choose a man for her okay. What have you done? it was then it dawned on her that, what she had agreed to some years back might not be a fair deal after all. Unknown to her this was just the beginning more suitors came after that day, the handsome, the rich and wealthy, the common and simple the influential but Maimuna rejected them all her parents were distraught because they couldn't do anything about it. One day on Maimuna's way to the market someone caught her attention it was a man, a very very very handsome man, this was a first for her because no man in that village had ever gotten Maimuna's attention and the way this stranger did. He looked quite different from every other man she had been seeing in that village it was love for sight for she thought to herself, why do I feel this way no man has ever affected me in this manner why do I feel a strong pull towards this man how I wish he could not speak to me and as though reading her thoughts this young handsome looking man approached Maimuna, son desua beautiful Narnia he said insulations’ to my Maimuna could see beautiful bright smile appear on my Muna’s face in response to the man's greetings my name is Hassan he continued and I’ve come from faraway to do business in this village may I know your name Maimuna she blotted, my name is Maimuna she felt so shy before this man, so he is not from this village no wonder he looks very different Maimuna thought to herself, again how can I get to see you again she asked him let this be our meeting sports under that tree Hassan replied pointing to a tree around them. When Maimuna got home she excitedly narrated her experience earlier that day, she told her mother that she thinks she has finally met the one that is going to be her husband, the instant she mentioned the one, Halima’s mind flashed back to the priest's exact words some years ago and she knew that the time she had dreaded for a while had finally come. The next day Maimuna went to the meeting spots she and Hassan had agreed on the previous day and when she didn't see him on sign Leo she started singing malia before she was done singing she saw Hassan walking towards her. They were both delighted to see each other again so Hassan told Maimuna that he'd like to meet her parents because he wants to marry her, how elated Maimuna was when she heard these words come out of Hassan’s mouth and so she took him to her parents as a matter of urgency then introduced him as the man she had chosen to marry her father tried to advise her against marrying him, explaining that he was too perfect to be real moreover they barely know him or any member of his family. But she didn't care for she had made up her mind already. Her mother Halima didn't say anything because she understood what was going on. Sooner than expected the marriage rights were conducted between Hassan and maimuna to the amazement of the entire village. Immediately after the marriage ceremony the couple was set to embark on their journey to Hassan’s hometown with lots of gifts and many such goodbyes especially from Halima Meimuna's mother. Their journey began after they had journeyed for a while Maimuna asked Hassan if they were getting closer to their destination. Not yet you know I told you I come from far away he replied, at that point Hassan told his new wife that they wouldn't be needing the camel and the donkey or they will have to walk on foot. They're on. They walked on for a while when Hassan suddenly stopped me nini what's the matter why have you suddenly stopped asked my maimuna, Hassan washed into laughter and replied this is our destination, this took Maimuna by surprise she looked around observing that there was no hot and no human insides all she could see were grasses and few trees and suddenly she became afraid, but before she could turn around to ask what they were doing in the middle of nowhere Hassan had turned into a very big snake terrified by Maimuna screamed on top of her lungs but there was no one to come to her rescue what a tragedy Maimuna continued to stare at a giant snake shocked confused and petrified. Not knowing what to do she just looked on as she was thinking in her mind how fast can I run how far will I go before the snake catch up with me oh Allah free me this snake can strike at me any moment from now and kill me. I’m lost how do I even find my way back home just then she felt a tongue of regrets she recalled how her father had warned her about marrying her son a stranger she barely knew. Oh if only she had listened to her father this it's our destination the snake east look to me and least feel careful you are now mine to keep till I get tired of your beauty then I’ll eat you but for now you'll live by my rules. And as it continued to talk the snake transformed into a human again only this time it changed into a much older looking man. This man happened to be the same priest Maimuna's mother Halima had gone to in her search for a baby girl 19 years ago but my Maimuna never knew all this. Ya Allah how could Hassan have turned into a snake and from his snake into this old man she wondered. Indeed he was a total stranger to maimuna, yet Maimuna was no stranger to this man in fact he had monitored her since she was a baby. Hence his premeditated move to attract her to himself years later several years ago there was another family who had a similar situation but a different family structure from Danjumas

Once upon a time Aldu was married to only one wife Zainab was a humble and good-looking woman and her husband loved her however. He had made it clear from the onset that he was a polygamist therefore he was going to marry as many wives as was necessary. Zainab got pregnant almost immediately after they got married and nine months later she gave birth to a baby girl. Aldu was delighted at the arrival of his first child he wasn't so particular about the gender for he was certain he was going to have many other children after all. The excitement of becoming a father was overwhelming enough so why should he bother. As the years rolled by they had their second third and fourth child who were all girls initially Alto didn't give it much thoughts at least not until one of his friends jokingly brought his attention to it one day, okay if we were told in future to present our sons for an important mission you'll disguise one of your daughters as a son. what do you mean exactly I’ll do it, what I mean is that so far you have only daughters his friend replied, but girls are also intelligence besides I’m going to have more children so you can't conclude like that. Notwithstanding after his friend left Aldu considered his words and gave it a serious thoughts after some minutes of thinking about the matter he decided he would marry his second wife and that was how he got married to Habiba. When his second wife started giving birth she also gave birth to girls so by the time she had her third daughter. Aldu became worried my first wife couldn't bear me a son my second wife is yet to bear me a son too what is happening he thought to himself. One day he called out to his wife Zainab I have had enough of daughters I want to son now he shouted at them but it's not our doing after all Allah is the giver of children Zainab responded in a bid to calm him down. See I don't care for your opinion on this right now all I know is that I want a son that will be my heir. As for Zainab she was consented with the children god had given her. However Habiba took her husband's words to her and decided that she will try all she can to bear him a son. And so it was that in her desperation to have a male child she went to a native priest the same one Halima visited only that Habiba visited earlier than Halima therefore at the time. Habiba went to the native priest for a solution to her dilemma, he told her that she'll have to come back in three days by then the hops will be ready for you he said. So Habiba returned to her home couple as she looked forward to collecting perhaps in three days time. Meanwhile after she left the native priest kept thinking of how he would make her have a baby boy although I have magical powers I am not God who has the power to give children. These fools who come to us do not know that there is a limit to what we can do. If only I can find a baby boy from another womb to swap with her. Some hours later Halima was seated in front of the priest as she explained to him how desperately she wants a baby girl at all costs, of course this was what he needed after all, now I have got two babies to swap he thought as he smiled mischievously he concocted some herbs and potions then gave it to her with a stern warning woman nine months from now you shall give birth to the daughter you seek, but you must remember this you must not choose for her who to marry for when the time is right she shall choose for herself and when that one comes you must not hesitate to allow her to marry that one do you agree with this conditional note I agree I agree just let me have a baby girl as promised I promise to keep to the agreement fact she replied. After she had left the priest left and said ignorant woman when the time is right I shall enchant her daughter and she shall fall in love with me, I shall be that's one to be chosen. No wonder he transformed into Hassan 19 years later and bewitched my Maimuna so that she was attracted to him like moth to flame. As for beautiful Habiba she returned as expected to collect her portion from the priest. She also had to agree to a condition attached to the promise given to her. Unknown to her the native priest had inflicted a baby boy in her womb with a rare form of affliction this was an inevitable occurrence considering that the magical process he engaged in swapping the baby boy was weaker therefore Habiba's only son grew up having some defects in him even as a man back in the forest After the snake had transformed into an older looking man the native priests Maimuna began to wonder who exactly she was married to, so she pleaded with him saying please tell me who exactly are you what is my offense that you have decided to punish me in this manner, just in, he doesn't, the great sorcerer, and you are not mine for your mother had before you to move from her womb by virtue of the comments she made with me 19 years ago in sears Maimuna blatted out her disbelief my mother migrated me to you how so why, why would she do this to me why./ sacrifice fell on deaf ears as he called to blame a monkey so I turned to his new bride this monkey was no ordinary monkey for it could communicate eloquently in human language it became my Maimuna's only companion. As she lived in the forest especially on days the wasn't a messier round one day Maimuna asked the monkey how it was possible for it to communicate in human language and how he came to serve the messier as master, it sighed deeply and said I am simply paying for my sins I was once a human being myself before I was turned into a monkey and over the years I’ve had to repent time and again regretting my past evil deeds if only I hadn't been weaker to my twin brother evenly I hadn't allowed greed jealousy and hatred overwhelm my soul oh how I wish I could turn back the hands of time but it's impossible I only pray for forgiveness now even as he reflected on the past events in his life he said my name is Bala my name is completed her sentence for her to her surprise yes I know your name moreover i know who you are I have known you since you were a child how's that even possible she said almost as a whisper seeing her confused expression Bala felt the need to explain certain things to her you see. I have worked with me for a very long time now even before you were born he began to tell her and so he went on to tell her how her mother had come to the messier desperately seeking a baby girl and how he had used his knowledge of magic in achieving what she desired he also told her how the magician who came to be known as a native priest had a special means of monitoring her since she was born to the point she was old enough to be married and finally how he had changed into a young handsome man casting a spell on my Maimuna so she could fall helplessly in love with him then choose to marry him, ya Allah so I was enchanted Maimuna exclaimed as she considered Bala's words and now I’m done for she concluded as tears streamed down her cheeks it was then she understood what they may see he remains when he declared that her own mother had Detroiter her to him no you're not Bala declared there is a way out Bala had proposed in his heart to help Maimuna from the first day she arrived at the forest for he felt that she shouldn't have to suffer for her mother's mistakes. He had been with the messier long enough to know his secrets and tricks so he told Maimuna how she could escape there's, a pot containing some magical potions they may see here drinks from every three days I have tried to break this spot on numerous occasions to no avail the day he caught me trying to break the spot he simply laughed and told me that the pot could only be broken by a female virgin therefore there was no way I could ever succeed in breaking it. I have always suspected the contents of this pot to be the source of his magical powers if you break it then you shall be free to escape now how will I find this pot my Maimuna asked just follow me and i'll take you to where it's been kept however we must hurry so you can break it before he returns by evening and so he took her to a tree very close to the river bank in a flash he climbed up into the tree and appeared some minutes later bearing the pot in his hands he handed it over to Maimuna and instructed her to smash it immediately she did as beaded and in that instance Bala was transformed into a human being apparently the spell of being in his he will genuinely help a human being of course this condition was known by messier but he didn't tell Bala about it because he wanted Bala to be his slave forever. From where he was seated in his shrine they may see hiri was struck by on getting home Danjuma broke the news of Halima’s death through Maimuna it's unfortunate that your mother passed on some days ago she had moaned your departure for days from that day you got married to Hassan she starved herself for days till she felt terribly ill. Her last words were that Allah should have mercy and make a way of escape for her daughter. She had confided in me after he left that day that because of the confidence she had no hope of seeing you again. If only she had listened to me. Maimuna later narrated to her father all she had gone through in the forest and how she was able to escape even after knowing what her mother had done she was sad about her mother's death regardless. She was later married off to one of the young men in the village and her father strongly advised the new couple to be consented with the children God will give to them.

TO BE CONTINUED

social mediamarriedcelebrities
1

About the Creator

Salifu Koroma

My name is Salifu Koroma, I am a Sierra Leonean, I have completed my higher school education. My strengths are, I am self-motivating person and I have strong communication skills also. And a love for engaging with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Salifu Koroma (Author)11 months ago

    The more you read the more you learn please read and let me know what you undarstand and what you learn. thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.