Families logo

Love The Grandchildren

Two visited yesterday and two called today.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 3 min read
3
Love The Grandchildren
Photo by Pablo Guerrero on Unsplash

The eighteen-year-old called to get some information about building a gun. He called Grandpa. Grandpa told him to build a go-kart. I said, did you tell him that sounds dangerous? Yes, Grandpa said, he did tell him that. The next call was from our grandson to ask if Grandpa had a tool to cut a stock.

Grandpa says he doesn't but he has a saw that may work. Grandson says never mind as his dad probably has one. His project is happening step by step today. He didn't listen to Grandpa.

By Tyler Delgado on Unsplash

The sixteen-year-old grandson called to say he is working and won't be able to join us today on our outing. That is okay I said and asked if he was at work now. He told me he was and I said, well, we will maybe see you next week then? That was the end of the conversation.

His school work can fit in along with work as he is homeschooling and doing well and he is anxious to be done for the year.

By Alexander Grey on Unsplash

The ten-year-old was here for dinner with his mother and sister last night. He is known to go around and around with Grandpa. Grandpa calls him Monkey One and his sister Monkey Two. Four of us had frozen pizza, as one of their favorite dishes at Grandpa's.

Their mother had wings, from a nearby bar and grille as she follows the keto meal plan. The wings are on sale on Wednesday evenings.

The grandson's comment back to his Grandpa was, "Grandpa, you have the vertical of a chocolate chip!" I thought that was hilarious and I told Grandpa my vote was for Paxton on that.

It probably isn't a good idea to encourage that kind of return comment. As he then told his sister that said someone was teasing her to call him a blob fish. They are in the same grade, so he may very well say that to the other boy as they can be protective of their sister.

By Loren Joseph on Unsplash

We took some pictures for a cancer fundraiser we are preparing for. The nine-year-old was not smiling in the photos. Then she wanted to take the photos, so I thought that may be a good idea and it worked out well!

They asked to make lemonade and I agreed. Then they started to be noticeably sugared up. I forgot I only had the concentrated lemon juice and the sugar bowl.

While she was making her second or third large glass, her mother stopped her from making another helping due to the sugar intake and behaviors that went along with it.

My daughter, me, and my 10-year-old grandson. My Grandaughter took this photo!

We are raising funds for the American Indian Cancer Foundation, through Team Carrie Powwow for Hope Fundraiser page on Facebook. The hoodie and journal are for sale with a portion of the cost going to the fundraiser.

It is great fun to work with my daughter and other family members on this fundraiser in memory of my sister, who died from leukemia in 2010 at the age of 53. She leaves behind a son with 5 daughters, a daughter with a son and a daughter.

Grandchildren are always involved. At the 10-year-olds first fundraiser, he danced the entire powwow. Last year the nine-year-old made gift cards for sale and they were all sold. She is an artist, as is her mother, two sisters, and a brother.

Last week we had a 13-year-old who stayed for a week. It was fun reminiscing about things he said and did on previous visits. He has a great sense of humor and is fun to have around.

As a teen, however, he was playing a game on my television with friends every second that he wasn't out riding the go-kart or 4-wheeler. That is what happens when they get to be teens.

grandparentssiblingsparentsimmediate familychildren
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was such an enjoyable and fun time with family! 🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.