Families logo

Love Letters to Anne

An Adoption Story Chapter Fourteen

By Michael DeMaraisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

So, we were adrift, staring at the same sky in the night…wondering about each other…only our homesickness to guide us.

We were going to have a party. I was going to drink until I found sweet Abyss. But something else happened that night. My friend who was with us, he got into the vodka and drank about 3/4 of the bottle. I decided to watch over him as he got sick and flailed about the room in his stupor.

I was with him for a few hours until after the dry heaves left him…he fell asleep finally and I discovered the party had raged on and all the booze was gone.

I was a little bummed. Sweet Abyss missed. And then a friend of a friend slides up to me as I’m having a cigarette with my thoughts and he pulls out a dugout.

He loads the pipe and smokes a little then asks me if I want any. I asked him what it was and he said it was marijuana…I contemplated this new development, the alcohol was gone and everyone else was silly in their artificial joy. I jumped and took a hit. Then, another, and sweet Abyss came as the curtain fell upon me.

I was there. In my sacred place. And felt peace of mind although a little dizzy. I wandered around the neighborhood stoned, and thought the deep thoughts that come to you when you’re stoned.

I must say, I enjoyed it. Thoroughly. It lifted me up and the dread I felt lifted. Things were suddenly possible. Even though I had no idea how things would move to satisfy my destiny. But I felt the Voice soothing me. Reassuring me and I believed in it. That message that came through: everything was going to be ok.

The next morning, I knew my life had changed. No pain, no consequence would move me. I had a new mistress who would walk with me into the Abyss. Her name was Mary Jane.

I was 17.

She satisfied my cravings for the Void. She led me to the clearing where I could let go of the noise crowding my mind. She helped me focus. I went deeper. I went higher. I moved in consciousness into and expanded universe. Escaping the black hole that was my life, that clouded my mind.

I now had another way. A way without the pain that alcohol demands of you. I would take every opportunity that came my way to fly into the Void. Sweet Abyss. To run from the pain, numbness welcomed and achieved. A side distraction to help me carry the weight of the burden I felt. The Void gave me a feeling of fullness that I had nowhere else.

My mission was unchanged. However, I now had another tool to cope and deal with my depression that I was crushed under.

You see, I was empty of everything except anger and hate. I was angry at my life, I hated myself. I had good reason to believe I deserved this exile. I was going to find them somehow. And then I would have the answers to the mystery of my life. I would ride the waves of outrageous fortunes to my date with destiny.

For a long time, I was consumed with survival. This little distraction, kept me going at times. Sure, I was self medicating, but, I had no access to medical help and we do what we do to get by.

I was chaotic evil but had a code of honor and I had morals, such as they were. I lived by this code to carry me through. I chose the Golden Rule to live by. Live and let live, but don’t force my hand because I was wounded and would act out, self destruction was an evolutionary condition.

I needed to get my head right. Mary always helped. I was lost in a tunnel. Following the Light while consumed by the dark.

One day, I would be free. So, I needed to start with my mind. Unlock the prison doors, and find love. Real love. Lasting forever love. Love unquestioned. Love unconditional. Pure love. I craved it.

I would not be denied. And all my journeys into the Void, all of them were a search for that love. That warmth that comforts and strengthens.

This is what drove me onward through the desperation.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Michael DeMarais

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.