Families logo

Love: A Portrait

Colours, Undone

By sleepy draftsPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 6 min read
Runner-Up in Love Unraveled Challenge
25
photo of the author's grandparents in their youth

My nana stares at me from behind her tea. She tells me, "If you think a man is going to hit you, don't blink." I am sixteen and wildly in love with a boy who tells me he is wildly in love with me. A few months later my mother will take me to file a restraining order against this same boy.

My nana's advice and the summer that led up to it came before all of that, though. Sitting in her living room on a hot summer night after everyone was asleep, she opened up to me about her life.

In a lot of ways, my nana raised me. When my parents had to deal with their own adult life, and after I'd had too many 'bad' experiences with too many bad-faith babysitters, my nana was the superhero they'd called in to save the day.

I don't think I ever tasted my nana's baking, only ever heard about it. She wasn't that kind of nana. Not the kind to whip up cookies or fuss over you, no - she had a different way of showing her love. At the time, I was confused by it. Now I remember it as something akin to a stoic, playful kind of love where most of the playfulness came out in private.

We'd spend hours with her teaching me how to paint, using her old watercolours. She always loved to paint roses. Layers and layers of petals painted in pale colours would bloom from rough, heavy paper as afternoon sunlight splayed across her dining room table.

author's grandmother and author as a child, painting together

As I grew up, I became interested in anime and my wee British nana decided to try her hand at it too. In her seventies, she bought a book on how to draw manga and would marvel over the characters' big eyes and adorableness of the chibi drawings.

Even in my teens, during my Twilight obsession, my nana went out, bought, and read through every book in the Twilight series with me. She was staunchly team Jacob.

(Side note: Yes, she also read 50 Shades of Grey. Prim and proper, meanwhile, she was the same woman who, only a few hours before she passed away in the hospital, was giggling and flirting with her male doctor. She was a hard one to keep up with, that Norah!)

My nana immigrated from England to escape her abusive father in her twenties. She believed unironically and wholeheartedly that God is a woman way before Ariana Grande came out with a song about it. Saying grace at dinner, He was always She and no one dared try to convince my nana otherwise.

My Irishtown, Irish Catholic papa always just chuckled and smiled at her in awe between sips of a clear liquid we all knew wasn't the water he tried to convince us it was (nor had it been for decades.)

I often wonder what kind of woman my nana would have been if she had been born when I was, in 1996. What would her interests be? Would she still be in England? Who would she have ended up with? Would she have also been diagnosed with bipolar disorder?

Would she still have married an alcoholic?

Would my mother still have married an alcoholic?

It's fascinating to think of being an egg within my mother, inside her mother.

In a way, all of our grandmothers partially raised us, whether we ever had the opportunity to know them or not. Their bodies kept us safe before we were even dreams to conjure.

My nana grew up in a time where, as she put it: "the only way to leave your father's home was to get married or immigrate." So to Canada, she came.

Then she married an Irish-Canadian.

photo of author's grandfather

It's ironic that my papa's ancestors survived the British only for him to be swooned by a British woman; or that that British woman would marry an Irishman because he wasn't like those, "rough British boys." Or that later on, their home together would be adorned by photos of William and Kate before, during, and after the Royal wedding.

A tightly woven fabric of vibrant contradictions, my nana was.

In her living room, with a cup of tea and the fading sunlight, she reminds me that love, hate, and fear are similar colours with different textures. That despite this, homesickness is the emotion that can muddy them all, or that the desire to cure said homesickness can leave all your colours bleeding down the page.

My papa was a gentleman at the same time that he was an alcoholic. He was kind, hard-working, reliable, and unreliable, all at once. He was the smartest person I've known and had integrity in everything he did, yes, but he also had a disease and his own set of traumas. He had watched his father beat his mother and knew he would never follow in those footsteps. He taught himself how to drive at age 14, changed his name to his father's, forged a counterfeit birth certificate at 16, and ran away from home to join the navy all before his eighteenth birthday.

My papa looked at his circumstances and said, "No way."

Kind of like my nana did.

No matter how far we travel, though, we still carry our past with us. We carry our trauma right down to our DNA. We yearn for unhealthy familiarities and to combat them at the same time. We fall in hate and call it love, or fall in love and call it hate.

My nana loved my papa and my papa loved my nana. Their love, respect, and loyalty to each other were vibrant. My nana was traumatized and unpredictable, though, as fiercely loving as she could be terrifying. Tense and oversensitive one moment, then wickedly clever and silly the next.

After my papa passed, my nana told me, "I think I was too hard on him."

photo of the author's grandparents

Sometimes I wonder if she had been more carefree with my papa and her children if she would have been happier; sometimes I wonder if she could have been happier and more carefree if she could have relied on my papa to be sober.

I wonder if my papa could have been sober if he hadn't had to go through his own trauma as a child and teen.

Yet if they didn't go through any of that, they never would have found each other or fallen in love. My mother wouldn't be here, and neither would I.

Between my maternal grandparents, my parents, and my aunts and uncles, the painting of love I inherited was coloured with a delicate combination of wonder, homesickness, and chaotic hope. It is a lesson in wondering what might have been, of missing what wasn't, and of the burning desire to paint a different portrait of love, despite what the photographic references may be.

When I think of my nana's father being too hard on her and her mother being too soft on him, I can begin to understand the painting she inherited of love, once too. I understand how she might have resented it and tried to paint her own version, or how the brush couldn't come clean no matter how hard she tried.

As of 2024, I'm 28 years old. My nana passed away almost ten years ago. I'm still learning what love looks like; I'm still learning how to paint on my own. Still, I wish I could show her my progress. If I could, I would paint a picture of her with her eyes closed.

I would paint a portrait of love that shows her it's safe to blink.

photo of the author's grandmother in her twenties before immigrating to Canada

marriedgrandparents
25

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Em, this was beautiful. Your grandparents sound like characters! I love that your grandmother said God was a woman! Epic. So glad this placed. Well done.

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your challenge win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    OH YES! Congrats on placing, Em!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving it & congratulations on the runner up win!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on the win! Well deserved!😊

  • ema2 months ago

    What a beautiful story! You paid homage to your dear grandmother in an excellent way, I love the photos ❤

  • "No matter how far we travel, though, we still carry our past with us. We carry our trauma right down to our DNA." Totally agree with this! Hang on a sec because I'm gonna go off topic for a bit but I promise I'll get back to topic after that. So yea, this is one of the reasons I don't want kids. Like let all these trauma end with me. The world is freaking messed up right now. I don't wanna bring them into this kinda world and then dump these generational trauma on them as well. Okay back to topic! I'm team Jacob too! And you said your grandma left home to escape her abusive father. But why did she stay in the marriage when her husband hit her? Oh wait, I found my answer, "We yearn for unhealthy familiarities and to combat them at the same time. We fall in hate and call it love, or fall in love and call it hate." Your grandma was such a beautiful and strong woman! So glad you shared this with us!

  • Sian N. Clutton2 months ago

    This is beautiful.

  • What a beautiful heartfelt story. You took such care to lovingly present this story in a creative manner that gives it depth, soul, and passion. Well done, Em!!! Very well done!!!

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    This is such a lovely story. Grandparents are wonderful to have.

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    This is such a sweet tribute, good and the not so good. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Safe to blink. Love that. This is what I have with my partner. I can close my eyes any time I want and I feel safe, and I know that I am very lucky.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Your delicate line swept me into swirls of remembrance: "In her living room, with a cup of tea and the fading sunlight, she reminds me that love, hate, and fear are similar colours with different textures." Beautiful and haunting, and so familiar. Thank you for sharing what feels like an incredibly intimate set of truths.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is a beautiful tribute. Your grandma, despite the trauma, was such a strong woman. A true dragon. Well done.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    This is one of the BEST stories I've read on Vocal!!! Absolutely beautiful and soulful. You are wise beyond your years. (No matter how far we travel, though, we still carry our past with us. We carry our trauma right down to our DNA. We yearn for unhealthy familiarities and to combat them at the same time.) WELL DONE!

  • I enjoyed your story. It is as if I could see your Nana and your Grandpa . A very inspirational human story .

  • Kageno Hoshino2 months ago

    Your Nana has a beautiful soul

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Your Nana is a champ! A beautiful tribute to her, she would've loved this! 💓 💓Beautiful and incredible story to her!💓

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Beautiful and heartbreaking tribute to a woman who once carried part of you and partly raised you to be the woman you're becoming.

  • Em, this is such a beautiful tribute. Your grandparents sound like they were amazing people, coping with things they should not have needed to face, but with so much love. Thank you for sharing their story (& pictures) with us.

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Oh damn, Em, if this doesn't place, I will write a very angry letter to the team. That ending is everything you built it up to be. The instability, the chaos of her life, always having to keep alert alert alert... and to give her a portrait of love with her eyes closed? Wow. That makes me want to cry. I could write an essay analysis on how good this piece is. (And I have done this before so I am not exaggerating, lol). This is the kind of creative nonfiction I love to read and strive to write myself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.