Families logo

Lost and Found

Love List

By nobodyPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Grumbling while walking to my car I could see work waiting for me. The arctic blast created a frozen mockery of transportation from the parking lot. My car was one huge iceberg among the denizens of motor vehicles in our apartment complex lot. I was furious at myself for not clearing my car after deicing yours.

Gritting my teeth, I proceeded to my car with the ice scraper/snow brush combination tool in hand. I didn't stride far before my boot caught on an object nearly buried in the sidewalk. Looking down I discovered what I had stepped on: a small, black book. It was probably dropped by a student from the looks of it. It reminded me of the journal I kept since university.

Wondering how someone could lose such an item I opened the cover to find out who lost this treasure. As an amateur writer I value a great notebook (whether lined or unlined). This folio held just the correct number of lined pages for someone who valued the written word. There was an appointment section, note section, and a calendar; however, the information section was missing.

After scanning the cover and coming up empty on the owner's identity I was taken aback by the calendar entries and notes scribbled in the margins throughout. This little ebony, spiral-bound notebook was more than just a journal it was someone's life story. I found a date circled containing a name and number. Reaching for my cell I quickly called the number with anticipation.

The phone rang directly into voicemail. It was a standard greeting message with only the phone number as identification. I left my name, my number, the reason for my call, and a cursory description about the binder. Disappointed at not reaching a live person I placed the valuable book in my laptop bag for safe keeping from the elements.

Reading some of the scrawl this gem needed to get to its owner as soon as possible. What I surmised is the family was gathering for an important event...one that was to change the life of a dear loved one. Trying not to impose but also needing to find identifying data my curiosity-seeking mind caught the gist of the notebook owner's intent. This family was planning on an addition. It was quite a celebration in the making!

Musing about you I quickly called to tell what just occurred. I was grateful you answered on the first ring.

"Hey, Babe," with your 'business-but-loving-me-while-at-work" tone.

"Hi, Love. How's your day thus far?"

"Same ol' same ol'...different day. What's up with you?"

"Hon...Robin...I just found someone's Love List Journal."

"Wha...Mike, hold on."

I heard you move the receiver from your mouth and ask your assistant to cancel your appointments for the remainder of the day.

"Babe, are you serious?"

"Yes, Love. I am."

Reminiscing about our Love List Journal we each had before we met nostalgic tears started to fill my eyes.

"Mike...Michael...we have to get this to its owner," your voice catching.

"Robin, I know."

You paused briefly before speaking.

"I remember revealing mine when I proposed to you," smiling into your words.

"I remember displaying to you my drawings about birds, buildings, photos of smiles and eyes. Each sketch, photo, and image piecing us together," I returned just as happily.

Breathing our quiet love, you continued softly renewed.

"YES! Do you remember my drawings, photos, and scribblings I presented to you?!"

"I DO! I remember your sketches of flowers, barns, and horses. I remember your scenery photos of various landscapes. I loved your poetry and musings! I still do."

"Wow. Has twenty years really passed?" you lightly gasped.

"Yes, My Lovely, they have." I answered just as audible.

Remembering how we blended our Love's List journals after our honeymoon I couldn't help but grin. Each page we carefully put together into a larger album. We made sure the binding was expandable to add pages...year after year. This object was the telling of our joint family tree. Much healing, joy, and love was contained in our journal.

"Robin, I already called and left a message."

"Thank you, Love! Will you..."

"I left your name and number just in case I couldn't get to my phone."

"I love you."

"Likewise...loving you too."

My voice breaking up here and there I began to tell about the similarity between the journal's owner and our life.

"Love, this family's story is practically ours."

"Michael!"

"Now, Babe...Love...before you scold me further for snooping please, let me explain. Do you want me to 'splain?" trying to imitate Desi Arnaz.

"Please do," trying to stifle a chuckle.

I took a breath and began.

"Well, the family was missing someone."

"uh huh..."

"And, well...they are about to ask him to be part of their family...forever!"

"She's proposing to him?!"

"Yes. But, there's a plot twist."

"Really?!"

I could hear you raise your eyebrows in shocked suspense.

"What's the dazzling detail?"

"Her grandchildren are proposing!"

"Seriously?! WOW!" you gasped.

Remembering our proposal...well your proposal to me over dinner...I couldn't help but glow with the thought of that evening. You had supposedly been 'working' all day; and, I had numerous consultant meetings throughout town. When I came through the door that evening you were sitting at the kitchen table 'looking' over some paperwork.

Setting my consultant/laptop bag on the counter I let a sigh of frustration fly into the atmosphere of our cozy, leased dwelling. Without missing a beat you were suddenly scooping me up in one of your famous stately "from-behind-my-back-what-is-troubling-my-beautiful-man-today" hugs I dearly love. Kissing your arms clasped tightly just below my chin I smiled a quarter smile. While trying to respond to your squeeze with words you started singing our song. I quickly stifled my thought as you started swaying me to the words you were singing. When you reached "good things" you spun me around to face you. Your serious but fiery eyes kept me from crying outwardly. Pausing your serenade, you spoke your question aloud.

"What's troubling MY baby?"

"Babe..I don..."

"Now Love...don't 'babe' me! What's up? Tell your Lovely what's going on. Why is my pretty man sad?"

"Robin, really. It's been a..."

Without waiting for me to finish you made a box appear out of thin air. With a sparkle I had not seen before you locked my eyes and verbally caused me to sit down.

"Love...Michael...it's important that you do not interrupt me."

"Robin...Love...I really just need..."

"I said please do not interrupt me," your words jovially clipped.

"Yes, Love."

"Better."

I returned your smile.

This small but treasure-filled box contains a sentiment that is THE expression of love I will ever ask you to respond to."

"okay...," the tone of my voice reflecting the question.

Proffering me the box...you encircled my hands before I could open the lid. I could sense you emphatically embrace my heart as you do when we have our silent heart-to-heart chats.

"Babe, I have one request. No. I have one requirement. Please tell me what's making you gloomy!" with a hint of humor.

Inhaling and next slowly exhaling I spoke my trouble.

"The doctor denied my hormone therapy."

"Perfect. Open the box."

Arching a brow and opening the gift I glared as though you materialized an arm from your forehead. Looking down at the open present I saw what I never expected: your dad's wedding band. Without hesitation you took the ring, held my hand in yours, and began your proposal of eternity.

After beseeching for a bridge groom, I opened my mouth to respond but words failed me. I was awestruck at your tender overture of marriage. You are THE only woman to silence me. Widely grinning you leaned in to kiss me with a graceful touch. Lingering long enough to steal my breath I slowly smiled into your mouth. Pulling back far enough to peer down into my face I realized I was shivering from tears.

Wiping my eyes with your fingertips you softly shushed me while pulling me into your neck. Being shorter than you was such a compliment to me. Never intimidated by your statuesque beauty I am ever grateful for the refuge in your arms. I never felt safer.

"My Beloved Michael what's your answer?"

"My Dearest Robin...my answer is yes."

The ringing of my phone brought me back to present day.

"Babe, it's them."

The phone stopped ringing before I could answer.

"It went to voicemail."

Before disappointment settled in, I heard your voice.

"Wait. My phone's ringing. I'll conference you in."

I held my breath while you answered. We were helping a family reclaim a gem of a journal: a small black book.

"Hello? Yes, this is Robin. I have my husband, Michael, on the line with us."

"Robin and Michael, my name is Terry. I'm grateful to you both for reaching out about the journal. Frankly I hadn't realized it was missing until I heard Michael's voicemail."

"We're glad we could help you discover what you didn't know was missing," we responded in unison.

"If it's okay with you I can have a courier stop by and pick up the journal at 3 pm today."

"I will be happy to oblige. Please, Terry, let me give you my office address." you responded with glee.

"Terry, Robin and I are happy for you and your family. I happened to glean your story while searching for something to identify the owner of the notebook. I hope you aren't too annoyed."

"Michael, I'm not offended. I'm comforted by your generosity and caring. You both went out of your way to return such a seemingly insignificant item."

"Terry, your family's story is too similar to ours to just ignore the journal's value," you quickly inserted.

"Robin, it warms my heart to know that families adopt dads/granddads like ours did."

"Us too," we responded together.

"Robin...Michael...thank you for your loving hears. I hope y'all have a Happy Valentine's Day."

"You as well." disconnecting the call.

"Babe..."

"On my way." reading your mind.

Three p.m. could not arrive fast enough. I stopped by your favorite coffee shop before heading over to your office. I arrived just in time to pass the messenger in the hallway.

"I just texted Terry that the service left with his journal" you greeted me grinning.

Handing over the coffee and returning your radiance, I quickly embraced you and kissed my 'hello'. With a breathy 'missed you' I looked up into your face to glance your mischievous glint. Spinning around (coffee in hand) like you were dancing to our favorite upbeat tune you sashayed to your desk and gracefully plucked an item from its surface. Closing my eyes in response while chuckling I could only stare as you handed me an envelope.

"Open it. Now."

Without asking or speaking I opened the envelope and surveyed its contents.

"Seriously?!"

"Yes. $20,000!"

"For?"

"For returning the little black book."

"Babe...this..."

"Baby, I know!"

"You/I can get my surgery!" we both exclaimed with eyes aglow and glistening our jubilation.

Terry's note from the courier just said, "Thanks to a couple who decided caring is better than trading financial gain for superstar scoop. Thanks again, Terry."

We had met a certain famous Terry; and, we returned an item our family knew was valuable. This happened because one family loved similar to ours. The gift of gratitude in the money was simply a bonus.

What a Valentine's weekend celebration we were going to share!

adoption
Like

About the Creator

nobody

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.