Families logo

Leroy's Obituary & I Don't Think I’ll Live Long Enough to Finish Everything

October 5, 2015

By AnessaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Leroy Bauer was born in rural Davison County on June 30, 1921 to Gustave and Martha (Koch) Bauer, the third of six children. He grew up on the farm and attended Baker Township School for eight years. He and his four brothers enjoyed many hijinks on the farm when the work was done (or when the work was being shirked), such as swinging Tarzan-like through the haymow on ropes or climbing to the top of the windmill before being caught by their big sister or their parents. In 1946 he and a cousin were walking down a street in Mitchell when they bumped into two girls his cousin knew. One of them was the beautiful Leona Becker. They were introduced and two years later Leroy and Leona were married on August 1 at Zion Lutheran Church. They were devoted to each other for 67 years and had three sons, Wesley, Luke, and Steve.

Leroy was a simple man who loved his family and loved farming. Taking care of people, animals, and machinery was instilled in him at a young age and he was passionate about keeping his machines well-oiled and mended. He was gentle with animals and had his own unique names for ducks and calves especially: ‘buppies’ and ‘betchies’ respectively. He and his beloved wife took the opportunity to travel as their sons grew and assumed responsibility for the farm, visiting Europe, Hawaii, and many other far-flung places. He doted on the grandchildren God blessed him with, spoiling them with constant help in their creative endeavors, special rides in his pickup, and patiently tolerating their noisy shenanigans. He was a faithful member of St. Paul Lutheran Church his entire life but always felt closest to God in the outdoors. Although he was a quiet man he could never hide his love for his wife (and her delicious pastries) and his family.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Lil Sis,

I'm writing this down so I don't forget. Lukes brought all the pictures from home. I found a picture of the old farm - Pa and cows. 10 cows it shows, and its showing the new silo. Also your confirmation picture with Pastor Harterberger, also Mom's funeral October 19th 1983. I threw away most of the pictures - gave Lukes their pictures. So many picture frames, threw them too, because Maggie has better modern frames now. Well I am done with the pictures now.

Saturday got done vacuuming, so I'm resting again. I haven't dusted in about 3 weeks and it needs it, but not today. Going to have fish for dinner and still have some corn on the cob.

Maggie and Tara cleaned out my closets and dressers upstairs. They brought it all here - whole bedroom is full. So I will sort it out and give the good stuff to Goodwill. Some parkas I have to have cleaned first. Wonder how expensive that is? There's coveralls and coats and stuff from Leroy. I wonder why we don't get rid of that stuff we don't wear anymore? The Goodwill store here is so full and then I’m going to give them more. I'm cutting up some stuff for quilt blocks too. I don't think I’ll live long enough to finish everything.

Amelia took me out for supper last week. We were going to go to Perkins but they are remodeling so we went to Chinese place. It was so nice. I had chow mien and she had some something else. She also ordered wine and so I really enjoyed the supper. This is the second time we did that. Tara took me out to Perkins awhile back. I never thought about this but I have never eaten out with Luke and Maggie, I'll have to suggest that. Only thing is Maggie doesn't eat much restaurant food. She just seems to eat raw veggies.

Well I don't know if I told you about my leg? I had 2 blood vessels break and they leaked through the skin. I went to the doctor and he sent me to a surgeon, but the surgeon said not surgery; just let it scab over but he bandaged my leg up. But after a few days I took it off - too tight - so now I'm going back to see what he says. I'm going to 10:30 church at Luke’s this morning. I have an hour to wait maybe I should get up 15 minutes earlier and go at 9:00 o'clock? I was wondering if Harlan was coming up to see his dad? Tomorrow I'm going to Social Services to claim Leroy's death benefit ($250) and then to eye doctor. I think they will send me to Sioux Falls.

So get well! I hope it works out for Mary to drive you more. I think you will miss your car. Love you lots and the Admiral.

Big Sis

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.