Families logo

Kids and there behaviors

Do you have a son or daughter that is crazy?

By Megan WolfePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Ok ladies and gents,

Is your kid bad? Does he throw things at you, hit you, tell you your an idiot or he/she hates you? Do they throw themselves all over the ground? Do they treat you like crap in public? Are you on edge and you don't know what to do? Well let me try and help.

My sons been through a lot in his life and hes only 7. His behavior is out of control. Some people will tell you maybe you should've raised him better. Maybe you should discipline him. Maybe you should watch what you do in front of him. You get so many karens attacking you and looking at you in public. But they don't understand what happens at home, they don't understand what your kids have been through. All they see is a kid acting up and its automatically how they were raised. That is not the case at all. Kids can be raised amazing and end up murderers. Never judge a book by its cover. Now automatically think the parent is not doing anything when they are actually doing everything in there power to make the child stop acting the way they are. Some moms can't handle it and I know it is hard.

My son was raised right, I don't do bad things in front of him, I play with him, I don't fight in front of him, argue etc. I raised him to be the best he can be. What people don't understand is it's not the mothers fault or the fathers or you could be split up and the parent's don't live together. My son would tell me that he doesn't like me, he would go to his dads and say that I did this and it actually never happened. Or he will come home to me and tell me that dad did this and it turned out to be a lie. He loves to try and make trouble. Yes I know he is only 7 but yall don't know what he has been through.

I've tried everything to raise my kids and be the man I wanted them to be. Me and there dad split up and I noticed his behavior changing. It wasn't to bad over time but then he got worse. He would get mad at me for no reason, stomp all over the place, throw stuff at the wall etc. But what parent's don't understand is that the kid does wants the reaction, he wants you to react to his behavior. What you need to do is stop. Stop reacting to anything that he is doing. I used to whoop my kids butt for disrespecting me, I would make him stand at the wall, do chores and yell at him for what he was doing. That only made things worse. All they want is that reaction out of you. But what I have learned is that you ignore them. Stop reacting to them. If you are in public, calmly talk to them, if that doesn't work, let people stare. Ignore your child until they stop. Do not react. I know it is embarrassing when they do that but it is what will work.

Do not cave in either. Wait till they are calmed down enough to talk. If you are at home and they continue, ignore them and put them in there room and shut the door. Let them bang on the door, yell at you etc. Eventually they will stop. When they stop then calmly open the door and talk to them. My son got so bad because I would get onto him and everything but as soon as I started to ignore it and wait for him to calm down and just talk to him, I have noticed changes. He is not as bad as he used to be. He still has his days but he actually goes to his room himself and calms down. A lot of my situation has to do with his dad not being there. His dad was in and out of his life for so long, it messed with his head. I have plenty of advice to give when it comes to kids and there behaviors. I know it sounds bad when you hear someone tell you to ignore them and not react. I know it is hard as well, but yall are strong and yall can do this.

Now if they started acting weird and there behavior is concerning then I would seek help. Get them in counseling. Some kids rather talk to a stranger than there own parent. No one like talking to there mom or dad about there problems. Don't be afraid to put your son/daughters in counseling. It is nothing to be ashamed of. My kids see a therapist and I have noticed a drastic change in behaviors. Don't be afraid to do something. If someone wants to judge you then let them because they have no idea what you have been through. Keep your heads up and do whats best for them babies. You got this.

children
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.