Families logo

Just by Nature

My Aussie Battler

By Carmel KinsellaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
just before Mother's Day

Just grew up in a two women household but his adopted uncles and second cousins and his own uncles gave him the inspiration to be a man and a good son .

He was never short of adventures and experiences that made him enjoy life. But being the son of a mentally ill mother definitely had its downturns. He was teased at school even to the point of having his head flushed in a toilet and the principal at the time not helping me or him.

Just never lets the odds beat him . He struggled with reading but with his grandma's help, overcame his deficit. He learnt also through his gift of music He played in the school band in year 10 .

Years of seeing me in and out of hospital never deterred him from loving me .I felt so close to him because he never let me think I had an illness by the belief he had in me.

He left the nest when he was 18 and when he travelled to Margaret River at 21 he found life in the country very satisfying . And he found a lady . Older than him yes but a surfer like him and a painter . she shared his passion for music as well . Her two sons went close to idolizing him .

But in 2019 I was hospitalized AGAIN after My Mum passed away and I had to deal with a bush fire near Just' s house-(yes Just had a house with mortgage before the age of 30)I think he realized that he was going to have to help me with my financial affairs if I couldn't gain my sanity back again.

He also realized that he was not going to be able to have children with the love he had had for over twelve years and he broke up with her and left all the work and life he had known for over 12 years to come up and save me .

Now my Aussie battler is having the fight of his life. He has to do income reports and mutual obligations after he lost a job up here due to the covid 19 crisis . He has a mortgage and is looking for work and he is worried about pains in the side of his neck that leave me worrying too . He feels like he has failed so many people that have misinterpreted his intentions including me and now he may have an illness which would mean giving up all he has worked so hard for .

I want the world to know that when we can't be on the side of our family at least we can help them and support them . So that is what I have been doing with Just . MY Just is Just in nature and I want to see him have all the luck and wins in health and finance that I know he deserves.

not only does he keep me in mind with whatever he does he also takes into account the feeling and needs of his neighbours . whist being out of work he has volunteered his services giving firewood from branches he has chopped from his own place and given his time to help older neighbours with gardening and handyman work .

his only regret is that I am not able to support him emotionally .He needs a girlfriend for that . and I am no substitute for the kind of beautiful girlfriend he had for those twelve years .

When the chips are down Just has always found a way to get back up again. But this time the world has made life very difficult not just for him but for so many... with China being strong willed and defiant regarding exports especially seafood which makes for Just finding a crayfishing job hard to find, to the fact that people have to self isolate and socially distance themselves. and Just is an affectionate person.

I know Just will find a way he always has . It will take time though and money is getting thin on it.

On the upside this tenuous time has allowed my son and myself to re-establish a rapport with each other and though we have had our moments he is still my strength and my reason for living .

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Carmel Kinsella

Lets see...60 this year and i will be able to wear a teeshirt that says I self isolated on my 60th. My house is one of a miriad of quaint little hobbit homes that the owners take great care of .Well that's me for now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.