Families logo

Inherited Chaos

The secret diary of my mother

By VashtiHammett Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Inherited Chaos
Photo by Cassandra Ortiz on Unsplash

Twenty four hours was all it took to change my whole existence . Well technically it was eight thousand seven hundred sixty hours that lead up to this one moment of chaos .which started when I retrieved the mail and opened a little black book .something so trivial yet life changing . It changed the very DNA of who I am . I quickly became personally acquainted with the painful dawn of the meaning of thinking you know something and Knowing something without a shadow of doubt . The two are worlds of a difference apart .

You see yesterday I thought I knew who I was . I thought I knew the place I called home . I thought I knew who my parents were . I thought my life was just as "normal "as normal can get for a sixteen year old . The traumatizing truth is that it was all a lie . My whole existence is a lie . The only thing I know without a shadow of a doubt is that Today Monday, April 5th is the day I was born sixteen years ago . That's it.

I must have read this little black book page by page at least twenty times by now . Each condemning word written by hands of my deceased mother . Her life , My life and the monster who made me are all within the pages of my mothers diary . My name my real name is Gavriil Orlov and according to my mothers diary I have Inherited three things for certain . # 1. My mother's diary and in it the answers to some of my questions . #2. A trust fund account with $ 20,000.00 . # 3 An address in a completely different country .

This is crazy . The more I read this diary the less I understand . Is this really happening right now ? Is this really my life ? I want this to be all a dream . A weird , terrible dream I can wake up from and forget about in a few hours. scratch that I want to punch something right now . This is fucked up . I'm done . I'm just going to throw this away . This never happened . I never read this stupid diary , I never found out that my parents were not my real parents . I'm going to go back to my normal life and this whole thing never happened . Yep . In the trash the black book from hell goes .Goodbye. Inside the kitchen I open the trash can and deposit the book . See that easy . now I can just take a nap and eat some pizza rolls like normal teenager and forget this ever happened . "

Out of no where a foul odor of ripe onions and pickle juice invaded my nostrils . "What is that funky smell ?!" I lifted up my arms to smell my armpits . I almost gaged ." My God I stink !" I jogged up the stairs into the bathroom and peeled off my clothes . The warm water feels comforting and relaxing . I can feel all my worries being washed away . As my thoughts fade into the noise of the water running my mind zones out. doubt and fear creep in .

Your a Coward . Your a nobody . Your alone in this world . Ugh why cant I just have a peaceful moment to myself . I don't even Know who I am . How long would be able to live this lie ? Maybe I am a coward . Maybe I don't deserve to be happy . The water starts to get too warm and I step out of the tub wiping the steamed mirror off . You'll never know unless you try . What if I try and something bad happens to me then how will I be okay ?But isn't doing nothing worse than trying and failing? Because if I try and fail at least I can learn from my mistakes and gain experience . But if I do nothing I don't gain anything . I wont get to know my real family . I wont get to see how far I can go . I wont get my inheritance. but worse of all If I died today I would die as a sixteen year old nothing . Nobody would ever know who great Gavriil Orlov is.

I look at myself in the mirror staring into my eyes wanting to become someone who I can be proud of . I want my life to be meaningful not matter what I decide in life . I finish getting dressed and go back downstairs into the kitchen . I dig for my mothers diary out of the trash and take a deep breath . This is it no turning back . I take out my phone and request a lyft to my next destination . whatever happens next on my journey to finding out who Gavriil Orlov is at least I can say I tried .

The End For Now .

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VashtiHammett Written by VashtiHammett

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.