Families logo

I Hate Housework

Disordered can sometimes mean orderly

By Dan McGinnisPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I really cannot stand a messy house, but I really, really hate housework. There isn’t much space to clean, and I go out of my way to make sure things stay in place as much as is reasonably possible. It’s the kitchen counter that creates my nightmare.

The eat-in counter divides my kitchen and living room. It’s been a magnet for everything from mail to grocery bags. While I always put away groceries s son as I get home from the store, I often have multiple canned goods that seem to never make it into the cupboard. I’m not sure why. There is always a giant candle, an assortment of ink pens, note pads, cell phone chargers and almost everything else I manage to lay my hands on. What draws all that to my counter?

Unquestionably, I use the kitchen counter asthe primary stopping point every time I walk in the door. It is the drop off location for keys, ID badge, pocket contents, wallet, and an assortment of notes that I have accumulated throughout the day. Things headed to other rooms always get placed there and hang around until it occurs to me to move them on during one of my passes through the house. Sounds simple enough, but it’s really a bit complicated.

I like to stay busy throughout the day. I keep focused on writing assignments while moving through the house and, when the urge hits, I head for my office to write. I usually grab something from the counter that should be heading that way, but it always just changes rooms and end up sitting on my desk until it gets put away. Before long, my attention deficit disorder kicks in and, in short order, I am soon off to some other random, unrelated task.

The cluttered counter bothers my sister more than it does me. When she visits, she almost invariably will begin putting things away for me. It’s like having a part time organizer that I don’t have to pay. She sticks to obvious items though, like putting away canned goods and moving knick-knacks back to where she things they should go. She is always bothered that I forget to water the plants until she heard Alexa remind me to do just that every Sunday evening at 6 p.m. Ah...the power of modern technology.

My counter is uncluttered at the moment, but it won’t last long: I need to go to the grocery store. By the way, if you aren’t using Ibotta, you should. It’s a quick way to earn free money on ordinary grocery items (and other things as well). Down the app from Google Play and enter code NVJIOOM to be a part of my team. You’ll earn a$10 cash bonus when you sign up and be eligible for monthly bonuses that our entire team helps you earn.

This new year gives me great hope that I will become more organized and more deliberate about all things household. Of course, I have had this same ambition in previous years only to recognize that a certain level of disorder is necessary for my orderly life. For example, I simply cannot function if my desk is completely organized. I am-quite simply-- lost with every paper filed and every ink pen stowed away. I need my active projects to be front and center to keep my focus.

Whatever 2023 brings me, I am determined to focus on better personal organization, earning money from multiple sources, fully funding my retirement accounts, and enjoying all my down time. And, for the first time in years, I plan to squeeze in a vacation.

What are your plans?

diysingledivorced
Like

About the Creator

Dan McGinnis

Freelance writer, screenwriter, author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.