Families logo

I Am Indebted to You Mom

Years after years, still, you remained the same.

By Sadia KabirPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
I Am Indebted to You Mom
Photo by Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

My dear mom,

Hey mom! You must be thinking about what this is for. Well, this open letter is to let you know how much I'm thankful for becoming your daughter. In short, I want to thank you. But it's not possible, I know. Because some appreciated words can never express what you've done for me.

I could still remember my school days when you used to drop me at my school and stand outside the entire time in the sun (as I was in the village and that time in my country village schools doesn't have that appliances and benefits) so that I don't have to wait for you after finishing my classes. You knew that you might have black patches on your skin, and that's what happened, but you didn't bother about that; instead, you prioritized my comfortable over yourself.

That memory is still afresh in my mind when we moved to the town due to my and my sister's study. I remember how you became a mother hen so that you can face all the difficulties before us. I remember all the struggles you went through as my dad wasn't present there to help you. I remember how you used to manage all the work inside and outside and still got time for us.

When I was in 12th grade, we had a financial crisis. Even paying our tuition fees became very difficult at that time. Yet you didn't give up and sold even the last piece of your jewelry to pay our tuition fee so that we could continue our studies, but you never complained. You kept loving us unconditionally.

Whenever you used to cook or buy something I like, you always kept your piece for me without eating it yourself, even though I had my piece.

I remember when you burnt your hand while making ketchup. You could have bought one for me, but you didn't because I like homemade ketchup. In return, you burnt your hand, and the wound was so deep that the spot is still visible; yet you didn't complain. Instead, you again made the ketchup the next year.

I know I'm late, but I want to thank you.

Thank you, mom.

Thank you for bringing me to this beautiful world. Thank you for cooking for me and feeding me. Thank you for loving me even when I used to irritate you. Thank you for teaching me. Thank you for making me what I'm today. Thank you for being there whenever I needed you. Thank you for keeping our happiness above your own. Thank you for those sleepless nights you spend serving me when I was sick. Thank you for all the sacrifices you made for us. Thank you for...

To be honest, this thank you list will never end.

You don't know how much you have affected my life. And I know that I can't repay you, even the pain that you bore during my delivery, let alone the things you have sacrificed for me your entire life.

Yet, there were times when I was rude to you, I made you upset, I made you worry. Nevertheless, you didn't leave me alone when I needed you. You kept supporting and motivating me and helped me choose the right path.

I am sorry for my mistakes, mom. Without your guidance and support, I don't know where would I have been now. You always encouraged me when the situation was against me. You taught me to fight back.

I love you, mom. You're the greatest blessing that I got from the Almighty.

THANK YOU for being MY MOM.

With love,

Your daughter,

-Sadia

siblings

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SKWritten by Sadia Kabir

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.