Families logo

Grandpa Gordon

And His Little Black Book

By Carlos TinglePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
"And just like that, Percy learned never to look a gift horse in the mouth again."

"Please, stop crying, Mom." Percy said. "Yeah, I know... What? You're breaking up... I will, I will... Okay, bye."

Percy hung up his phone and continued to pack up boxes. His mind was getting cluttered more than his grandfather's dusty, old, single-story house. With every mover passing by, the floor creaked a hundred times. Percy stepped out onto the porch and took a breath of fresh, dust free air. The afternoon sun shined down on the big moving truck; packed to the end with boxes full of his grandfather's old stuff.

"How can such a tight house have so much junk?" Percy said to himself.

The movers had no more space for the last box, so they pulled the back of the truck down and hauled off what they had. Percy took a look back inside and marveled at how quickly they cleared out that old shack of a house. Everything except one last box, and a cobweb covered bookshelf. He huffed and puffed and dragged his feet along the floor.

"Some inheritance, gramps." Percy said.

There were only a handful of books on the shelf, so Percy added them to the last box he had. The Catcher in the Rye, The Tell-Tale Heart... a book with no title? Percy examined the little black book, but it didn't look like it was an official published story like the others. He opened it up to the first page and realized it wasn't a book, it was a journal. "Property of Gordon Habbernathy" it read.

Percy sat down on the front porch and began to read off the papyrus textured pages:

September 3rd, 1955

Last night was one to remember. Never thought I would be the drinking type, but the old boys twisted my arm. Happy 10 year reunion you jarheads! It was good to see the boys after all these years. Hated to hear about Mike and Neil. Not everyone made it back from the fight mentally in one piece. May they rest in it... peace, that is.

October 10th, 1955

I think I might've met the love of my life today. Dorothy. Gosh, does that woman know how to light up a room. And, and, and this is a big and, she laughs at my jokes! Can't make this up. A woman who actually recognizes my genius! I'm going to marry her. Mark my words.

Percy snickered. He never realized his grandfather was such a goof. He took out his phone and looked at some old pictures. All of the family photos showed the 95 year old man frowning like the world was coming to an end.

"What happened to you, Grandpa?" Percy said.

The crickets, critters, and birds all sang their own songs. The peace and quiet was relaxing. It'd been a long time since Percy settled down with a book. He skipped around and landed on a page from a few years later:

April 4th, 1957

I waited specifically until this day, so that if she rejected me, I could tell her I was kidding anyhow... But, she said yes! I'm getting married to my best friend! She will soon be Mrs. Dorothy Habbernathy. That has a nice ring to it I think. Now, all I have to do is convence her to have my son, and all will be golden.

August 18th, 1964

My baby girl is moving on up. Her first week of school, and she already has a friend. She gets it from me for sure. Out of me and her mom, I'm definitely the popular one. It feels like time is flying so fast, but I'm proud of her. The proudest a father could ever be. She learns so quick and she's so smart. Best daughter I could've asked for.

Percy had no idea his mom would've been a boy if his grandfather had any control over it. Percy kept reading through, page after page, all the ups and downs, fully invested in this little black book. Dusk was upon him, and the orange glow of the sun was beaming into his eyes. He got up and made his way inside. He leaned up against a wall and checked his bottom to see just how much dust he was picking up. He continued to flip through the book, but then he found the entry he was dreading:

January 8th, 1982

Today was the worst What did I do t This can't be real I Is there even a God ou Please let this be a I'll miss you Dorothy...

The page was covered in dry spots, and the words were running ink. Percy never got to meet his grandmother. He knew she had passed long before he was born, but he had no idea how hard it hit his Grandpa Gordon. The following pages were blank. Page, after page, after page, there was nothing. Not a word. Not a single wrinkled page. Untouched, unused parchment. With a tilted head and furrowed brow, Percy shut the journal. As confused as he was, it made sense now, why the book was covered in dust and webs. He figured Grandpa Gordon hadn't touched the old thing in almost four decades.

Percy lit some logs in the fire place to warm up and get some better light. The crackling of the burning wood and the hooting of the owls made him realize why his grandfather might have stayed way out there. After heartbreaks and upsets, sometimes Percy wanted to run away himself. He watched the journal's fireplace shadow dance on the dry wood floor, and decided to pick it back up. He flipped through the blank pages until he finally found an entry on the last page. An entry from a few months prior:

December 29th, 2019

It's been a long time since I've picked up this journal. I'm surprised I even still have it... A new year is on the way, and I have a feeling it's going to be my last. I've had one heck of a ride. My beautiful daughter still doesn't have any grand children, so I'm not the great grandpa that I wanted to be... To be honest, I haven't even been much of a grandpa at all. Percy, if you're reading this, it means you actually took the time to look through some of my old things. I'm sure you're wondering why your grandpa left you his rinky dink shack in the middle of the woods... It's the place I moved to after your grandma died. I wish you could've met her. She was the sweetest peach on the tree... I was a mess after she passed, and I never thought I'd have to go this long without her. I didn't think I could... Your mom helped me fight through it, and then she met a good man and had you. The son I never got. You were a good grandson. You are a good grandson, Percy. I'm sorry the world took my smile away from me, so I never had one to give to you. Just know that I'm proud of the man you've become. I hope my little ol' home will give you peace when the world tries to take your smile.

Percy wiped a tear from his eye. He flipped to the back and what he saw froze him. With wide eyes, Percy stared at a check for $604,000. "Thank you for listening to the ravings of an old man."

And just like that, Percy learned never to look a gift horse in the mouth.

THE END.

literature

About the Creator

Carlos Tingle

An aspiring author.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Carlos TingleWritten by Carlos Tingle

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.