Families logo

Grandma and Me

My grandmother or rather my second mother

By ThayrilePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
4

When I opened my eyes for the first time, you were by my side, you loved me more than anything in this life.

I grew up a little bit and we shared the same room together. You told me interesting stories. We had sheep, chickens and a donkey. We used to take care of them together.

When I came back from school, I was asking directly: Where is my grandmother? I run to you hurrying while you're doing garden chores.

My mother would sometimes go to her parents' house to stay for a few days. I would go with her and the next morning I would run to you, because I wanted to stay with you.

You taught me how to cook. Often what I cook is not good, but you tell me it is good to motivate me.

I completed my studies in middle school and I heard that you were sick with anemia, and my parents didn't want to tell me the truth.

Once I was at home, I heard a strong voice. I looked to the yard of the house and saw you lying on the ground, and quickly I screamed: Mom Come on, I don't know what happened to my grandma. My mother rushed and took you to the room. After a few moments, you regained consciousness.

You were drinking 21 pills together, and I was surprised that all this medicine was used to treat anemia?

I completed middle school and entered high school, then I knew that your disease was leukemia, not anemia, my heart broke. I was always with you, even though we moved to a new house, and we slept in the same room, until the fateful day came.

I was in my last year of high school, preparing myself to pass the baccalaureate exam.

One morning, I got up to go to high school, my mom told me my grandmother didn't want to drink coffee. She didn't want anything. Go and ask her what's in it. She might be mad at me.

I went and asked my grandmother: grandma, do you want to drink something? She said: give me a little bit of water. I gave her water and told her," You’re feeling sick?

She said yes, I said to her: "Hope you feel better grandma" ( this was our last conversation ). I went and told my mom to call my Dad to take her to the hospital, and I went to high school.

When I came back in the afternoon, my grandmother was in the hospital. My father told me she was a little sick and they decided to keep her there.

My parents used to visit her every day. On the third day, I told them I will come with you to visit my grandma. When they came back from the hospital in the afternoon, I got out of school and went with them in the car. When we got to the door of the house, they called them from the hospital and told them that she had died.

I was screaming and saying: why? why? i was planning to come to you tomorrow. Why did you leave me? Why?

My father was comforting me and telling me, that's better you didn't see her on her deathbed, you will only cherish the beautiful memories with her.

My grandmother is gone, my second mother is gone, my friend is gone. How am I going to get through this ordeal?

They took her from the hospital to bury her. I saw her for the last time. I cried a lot and I'm still crying so far, her picture never leaves my mind. I can't forget her.

I learned a lot from you, Grandma, a lot of values and princips that I will teach to my children and my grandchildren, if I live.

I love you so much. I will love you until I meet you.

I miss you grandma.

Your dear granddaughter, Thayri.

* This is my story with my grandmother who suffered for many years from leukemia. Rest In Peace Grandma.

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe!

If you would like to tip me a coffee, please click the TIP botton.

childrengrandparentshumanityimmediate familyparentsvalues
4

About the Creator

Thayrile

Hello, I am an Articles writer. Health, motivation, family and more are very important to us, that’s why I decided to create those Articles and share in with you, to take advantage of the informations contained.

Thank you for stopping by.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Thayrile (Author)22 days ago

    Rest in peace grandma 😢

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Wonderful. Keep her memories as your closure. A heartwarming story.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Very Beautiful Piece!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I hope her memory will always be a blessing to you. I'm sure she is proud of this story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.