Families logo

Grandma And Glitter

Glamma

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Grandma And Glitter
Photo by h heyerlein on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember I have loved glitter. I mean heck why not? A little sparkle just adds a smile to things in my opinion and I have been glistening up things for years. Whenever I get my nails done in a salon I pick a pretty neutral color then have the manicurist top it off with some twinkle and it just pops! I love glimmer for formal wear and complimentary pieces to add in to my wardrobe. It is just so much fun to me and especially so during the Christmas holiday season. When everyone else is complaining about glitter all over the floor and carpet from ornaments, tinsel, wrappings and whatnot, I just buzz around the house humming while I vacuum. Glitter just never completely cleans up and I always giggle to myself thinking it is just completely awesome!

Earlier this year my oldest daughter announced she was expecting my very first grandchild. Boy was I ecstatic. My four kids are all grown up and I have been secretly wishing for someone to have a little one for about a year now. As my daughter’s pregnancy progressed and we all found out she was expecting a son everyone started teasing me and calling me grandma, granny and so forth. I told my children that I did not want to be called grandma. Not that there is anything wrong with it but it just didn’t seem to fit me. I wanted to jazz things up a bit to fit my personality.

I was going through my clothes one day and thinking about how I wanted a new purse. I am a huge fan of GUESS and always prefer their winter coats and handbags. I was looking online at the latest releases for the season and BAM it came to me. I decided that sense I like glittery things and associate it with glamour that I would be the future glamorous grandma or “Glamma.” I told my daughter and the other kids and it was a hit. I had no idea that it is an actual thing. There really is Glamma merchandise and it is a name that is really used referring to a grandmother. Recently for my 49th birthday my oldest daughter and my grandson Lennox who was born in September sent me an official Glamma mug.

As for being a new grandmother, I absolutely love it! I think a lot of times we associate the word grandma with the vision of an old lady which is ok because aging is inevitable. I, however, am still rather young (ok, middle age) but my point is that I have a very young spirit. I can’t say that I feel any different than I did in my 20s or 30s; I have just added on some digits. Besides, using my Glamma alternative for a name is quite fitting. It has pizazz to it and it certainly matches my high energy for life.

I look forward to all of the changes my grandson will go through as he grows up. I plan to be the fun Glamma who will add a dash of glitter to our art projects. I will be the one who proudly adorns his Halloween costumes, super hero dress up gear and school recital wear in sequins and dazzle. I hope that some of my love for glitz will rub off and that he will associate it not only with our special moments together, but also as a symbol of wonder. At 2 months old he laughs and has that little twinkle in his eyes, enticed by his surroundings. I never want him to lose that twinkle as he grows and I hope that no matter what he decides to do in life that he gives it that little extra oomph. Perhaps this is why I love glitter so much, for the allure it gives whatever it is paired with. Glamour really can be whatever one decides and I just so happen to be a glitzy ritzy gal otherwise known as Glamma!

My awesome birthday mug!

grandparents
3

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.