Families logo

From my point of view

I thank you

By Jessie AltmanPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
My graduation

A month ago, I received a letter in the mail. It was from Clark State Community College, and it was informing me that I was eligible to be the student speaker for the graduation commence because of my outstanding GPA. They wanted me to write a rough draft for the graduation speech and if it was good enough, I could be the student speaker. I was excited at first, but more I thought about it and what I wanted to write, I realized I had nothing good to say and if I did, it wouldn’t be enough to write an excellent speech. The paper I would have ended up writing would have been more of a lecture on things Clark State could improve on. So, I figured I would write a speech to the people that help me succeed in life.

Thank you, Mom, for giving me a life solely custom made just for me. Thank you for never leaving my side and never giving up, even if it was beyond way too hard. Thank you for introducing me to Bill Vanwey, someone that has taught me more about life than he could ever imagine. Thank you, Mom, for instilling morals and values that allow me to conquer anything I seek to accomplish. Thank you for everything you have done and not done, thank you for being you Mommy I love you.

Thank you, Bill, Vanwey for being a part of my life, it would have never been the same without you. Thank you for teaching me how to separate syllables in words. Thank you for showing me how to work on cars and how important it is to do the work yourself. Thank you for giving me an eye for detail and organization. Thank you for giving my mom a live she so desperately deserved and thank you for never giving up or walking away even if it was way Beyond too hard. Thank you, Bill, Vanwey for being the dad I never had.

Thank you, Jeff Altman, for giving me a place to stay all the way through college and never making me feel unwelcome. If it wasn’t for your kind generosity, I could not have done without you and I want to let you know how important that is to me. Thank you, bro., Believe it or not, I have always looked up to you and cherished the way you think. Thank you, bro.,

Thank you, Jason Altman, for instilling a work ethic in me like no other. Thank you for not only showing me how to work hard but showing how important hard work is. Thank you for protecting me as a kid and I was too small to do so. Thank you for all the mistakes you made growing up, so I did not have to make the same ones. Thank you, bro.,

Thank you, James Altman, for instilling discipline and showing me the definition of autocratic even if it was before I should have learned. Thank you for making all the mistakes you made growing up, so I did not have to make the same one. Thank you, bro.,

Thank you, Willie Gross, for being a role model and someone I have always looked up to. Thank you for showing me how important it is to dress for the proper occasion. Thank you for explaining motivation and how it works. I used to put you on a pedestal but now I can stand next to you, thank you for setting the bar. Thank you for all the Christmases you made special. Thank you for telling me to suck up the tears and to get back on the horse. Thank you, bro.,

I want to thank Patricia and Gary Weston for being the two nicest people I’ve ever met in my life. So, little would have been possible for so many people if it was not for these two people interventions. They always put everybody in their lives first before they think one moment about themselves. They are the most hard-working and caring people you could ever know, and I thank you guys for that. Thank you for letting me stay with you in Florida where I had some of the best times of my life. Thank you, Pat, and thank you Gary because without you guys it would have not been possible.

Because this is my graduation speech, I must give my biggest thanks to Julie Delange, and Janet Loyd, all volunteers at abiding Christ Church for the GED able classes. Being with these women, is like being in the presence of angels. If Albert Einstein and Isaac Newton was around today, I’m sure they could learn a lot from these women. Thank you, Julie, Jan, Susan, me young, Grace, Barbara, Shelly and Beverly. If it wasn’t for each one of you women, my graduation would have never even been a thought and if it would have been that’s all it would ever been. These women work miracles at lightning speed, and they do it, because they believe it’s the work of God. These women are more than teachers, they’re magicians. Thank you, ladies, so much because without you it would have not been possible.

I also want to thank the Jump for Trump community and America Jump for Trump group for all the motivation and hard work they put in getting our president Donald J. Trump elected this election year. I don’t think it would have been possible without you and people like you and I thank you guys for. These two Pages have taught more than Clark State could ever imagine

Finally, I want to thank all my friends and other relatives for being a piece of the puzzle that connects my Future past and present in creates the life I live every day. It is because of every one of you that I can be who I am in every shape, way and form. I want to thank all my friends from Dayton Ohio for protecting me from the streets and drugs and letting me know no matter where I was, they were never too far and if I ever needed help, they would be there. Thank you, Scotty, Anthony, John, Steven, Oland, Robbie, Johnny, Anthony and McLovin. I believe half of these people would die for me and the other half of the least say they would. Thank you, guys, for not only being my friends but for being my brothers, without you guys it would have not been possible. Johnny Woods allowed me to open a window into my soul that now can never be closed. Scott Travis has been there every step of the way and he has challenge me to move further every day. Thank you, guys. Thank you to all my friends in Enon Ohio. You guy have been a such a big part of who I am today and if it wasn’t for you guys, I could have never done it. My best friend Brad Hall has been one of the most inspirational people in my life. He is the best father I have ever met. He’s had my back through thick and thin he's helped me move on more than one occasion. Generally, I never had to ask because the offer had already been on the table and because of that I thank you Brad Hall. We started GED classes together and we started our diesel degree together and now we both have a job doing what we went to school for; and for the most part I think we both enjoy it a lot. If it wasn’t for this guy, there would have been a lot in my that would have never been possible. So, thanks for that bro.

I never went to school as a child, and I couldn't read and wright until I was 20 years old. Now I have a college degree in applied science with a GPA of 3.64 all because each person helping me in their own way. Now I'm working on another degree and most of the people I mentioned above are still helping me in their own way.

values
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.