Families logo

Fell in Love

Story of Motherhood

By Vanessa HamptonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Fell in Love

I remember the first time I fell in love. I mean really fell in love, not your average puppy love type. This was relentless, unconditional, and all-consuming love. It was cold outside, there was snow on the ground and I was 20 years old. On January 18, 1993, I gave birth to the most perfect baby girl. She was beautiful and sweet and my life would never be the same. I had never really thought much about anyone but myself until her. I named her Brooke Skyler and I was hooked and totally obsessed. Just watching Brooke sleep brought me great joy. I couldn't get anything done because all I wanted to do was hold her. I would sit and stare at her for hours. She was so perfect, I simply couldn't believe that she was real and that I had created something so amazing. Brooke's tiny hands would wrap around my finger while she was nursing. She made little noises and squirmed and wiggled. She was my whole world and I would die for her.

I thought I had known what love was before. I had boyfriends growing up and I had been married for about 2 years when Brooke was born. I remember when I had told my boss I was getting married he asked me the strangest question. He said, "Vanessa would you take a bullet for this man?" I kind of looked at him funny and said, "Uh......of course!" He said that I hesitated when I answered him and if I was really in love I would die for this person. He stated, “When you truly love someone you would give your own life to keep them safe.” He advised me not to get married so young and to wait a few more years. I never could figure out why he would ask me such a question until I became a mother. Until I became a mother I never could imagine loving someone more than I did myself but the instant Brooke was born life as I knew changed. I couldn’t even remember life before her. What did I do before I had this child because it seems as though I was put on this earth for her specifically?

I believe there are all kinds of love in the world. I love my husband, my friends, my family, and my dog but the love between a mother and her child is limitless. It’s love in the purest form. Nothing or no one can change it. You give your body and soul to this little human. You bear the pain of childbirth yet five minutes after it is over, you literally forget what just happened for you have your reward.

My baby is now 29 today and I still look at her like the day I met her for the first time. I'm sure she thinks I'm crazy but she will always be my little Brookie Bear no matter how old she gets and one day she will know how I feel when she has a baby of her own. She showed me how to love unconditionally. She allowed me to make the world more beautiful with her presence and she made me a better person. Motherhood has been the hardest, most rewarding job I have ever had. Nothing I ever do in life will compare to raising a child.

I remember the first time I fell in love....... I mean really fell in love. It was cold outside, there was snow on the ground and I was 20 years old. It was real.........precious ......and called Brooke........Happy Birthday Baby :0) I love you!

children
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Hampton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.