Families logo

Everyone Loves Rhonda

The lessons I have learned from the greatest woman I know.

By Tia HendricksPublished 3 years ago 6 min read

My mom, Rhonda, is authentically herself, making her the smartest, strongest, kindest, and most beautiful woman I know. Now that I have buttered up my mom with an amazing introductory sentence, I may continue with my many reasons for why she is all of these attributes.

My mom is brilliant.

Throughout my life, my mom has known the answer to everything. She would tell you different types of birds, why people and animals act the way they do, and where my pink beret is that I had lost a month before. If she does not know the answer to something, she will help me find the answer so that we can learn together, instead of simply telling me she does not know and leaving me to google it on my own. She keeps up with news on everything, including politics, locally owned businesses with awesome products, and even the Facebook group for our neighbourhood, where she will find the most interesting things. One time the Facebook group came in handy when a Mario balloon casually floated into our backyard, scaring the life out of my family's new puppy. My mom found the owners the next day through the Facebook group who said their son was devasted that the wind took Mario away.

My mom does not have a university degree, but she is very successful. She may not be a doctor or dentist, but she has always worked hard to get the job she wants, doing what it takes to get past the application stage. My mom has had much success with her jobs, staying at one job for many years before retiring. However, my mom cannot stand still for more than an hour as she will get bored and find herself another job to do. Whether that is working around the house, working outside, or finding another part-time job. Currently, she has two jobs that she enjoys and keeps her busy and feeling fulfilled. My mom's intelligence in the news, everyday knowledge, discovering what she wants to do and her mental capacity to achieve her goals are inspirational. Because of her, I strive to be the best version of myself and to do what I want to do in life, not what I think I should do simply because of income.

My mom is super strong.

My mom is what you would call a jock back in high school, as she was always interested in playing sports and running for track teams. This evolved into hardcore workouts at the gym, playing pickleball with friends, and playing volleyball with the kids at her job. For gym workouts, she has tried everything, including CrossFit, boxing, cycling, and hot yoga. She currently works out with a trainer at her favourite gym and has workout competitions with her trainer as my mom is so strong. She not only loves her two daily walks and regular workouts, but she also must be strong for her jobs which require physical strength. My mom had worked her hardest to pass the physical test of her previous job applications and continues to keep up her physical strength every day.

My mom's strength is not only how far she can run or how much she can deadlift, but her strength is also in how much she can get done in a day. As mentioned before, she currently is working two jobs that she enjoys and still finds time to shop for groceries, clean the house, and spend time with her family. While doing all this, she never asks for help unless it is truly needed but will always appreciate the company on her journey to the grocery store. She finds time to spend with her family through her morning and nightly walks with our dog, Chewie, which I try to join her as often as possible. My mom will also find time to come downstairs to talk to my brother and me after we finish our jobs for the day, catching up on anything exciting that has happened, becoming one of the best parts of my day. My mom's physical strength pushes me to be as strong as possible while working out and finishing tasks throughout my day. My goal is to be as strong as my mom as she competes with her 25-year-old male trainer and to get as much done in a day as she can.

My mom is always kind.

Anywhere, anytime, and to anyone, my mom is kind. She always spreads positivity to people and asks if people are okay when they seem like they may have been hurt or need help. This may seem like a basic human thing to do, but the way my mom does it affects people more than anyone I have ever seen. Growing up, I have gone into businesses where the workers know her name or recognize her face, and they are always excited to see her come in. People always light up and immediately start talking to my mom as if they have known her for years. I have noticed that she does this by saying hello and asking how people are doing, which not many people do when running errands.

The other night, I had joined my mom in taking our dog, Chewie, for a walk when we passed by the scene of a car crash. It seemed to have been a rear-ended crash coming around the corner in a residential area. The two cars involved in the crash and a few other cars were present, consisting of the people in the crash and others who came for support. Two groups of people stood on the sidewalk, both looking upset, and I was ready to walk past them without saying a word.

"Are you all okay?" My mom asked them while we are walking by. It is an effortless thing to ask someone, yet it uplifted people's moods. Even my dog was taking notes on how caring my mom is as he immediately stopped walking and stared at the sad individual as if he wanted to console them. This was very effective as they looked at Chewie and smiled, saying he is making them feel better.

My mom's kindness has always been my goal, to gain love and respect quickly from strangers. Always watching how she interacts with people in different elements and how comfortable or expressive she is. I use her as a role model when I introduce myself to new coworkers, ensuring that we know each other's names quickly so that we may become friends sooner. I also keep her in mind when in a business, being kind to the workers looking for something to brighten their day. She is so bright in many ways; it would be impossible to shine as bright as her.

My mom is beautiful.

This part of the list is the easiest to explain; my mom is gorgeous. She has an amazing facial structure with hair that frames her face and great brown eyes. She has a fantastic smile and a fit body from working out often, yet she still eats when her body tells her to, never restricting herself. My mom always puts on a minimal amount of makeup before she leaves the house, enhancing her beautiful features. I always tell her that she does not need any makeup as she is already so pretty, yet my mom is very modest and states that I am silly for thinking that. Almost every day, I ask her why she is so cute, which she always replies by asking me why I am so cute; I state that it is because she is so cute, and the tiny argument continues.

My mom is the most wonderful person I know with her intelligence on neighbourhood news and success in job hunting, her mental and physical strength, her constant kindness towards everyone, and her beauty that shines inside and out. I am thankful to my mom for being a great role model in every stage of my life, and I am lucky to have someone so great to raise me, a mom that I can look up to.

parents

About the Creator

Tia Hendricks

An Undergraduate English student simply practicing her creative writing skills.

https://www.instagram.com/tia.hendricks/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tia HendricksWritten by Tia Hendricks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.