Families logo

Endless Treasures

Old Or New

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Endless Treasures
Photo by Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

I was only eight when. my Uncle Glen was called off to fight in the war,

Uncle Glen was so close to my mom. He was her little brother, fifteen years apart in age. I think my mom always thought of him more like a son than a brother. The news that he had to go was heartbreaking, the war across the ocean was getting out of hand and they needed him badly.

Looking at us all dressed in his beautiful uniform, he told us all it is never good by, it is until we meet again,

Big hugs and he climbed into a green jeep. I wanted to run after him and bring him home. I was going to miss him so much. He was one of the funniest men I have ever known.

Three Months Later

Mom would go and check the mailbox daily. always hoping to find a letter or information on Uncle Glen. We spoke with others from our town that had heard from their family and my mom was getting concerned.

After three months we had been notified that Uncle Glen was in a different location. Mom explained that many of the soldiers from our area were jet operators and my Uncle would walk on foot.

Honestly, as a child I just pictured him walking around and the other soldiers flying great big planes. I never really understood what war really was all about. Mom said that was okay, I would learn when I was much older.

Another thing I remembered her saying was, hoping there is no war when you get older.

By Carlos Lindner on Unsplash

Good news had finally come, Uncle Glen had sent a picture of himself and a very long letter. I thought he looked pretty good, not understanding why he had all the stuff with him.

Mom sat with the letter, tears running down her face. She slowly sipped her tea, reading very slowly.

I went to her and gave her a kiss. Mom was really missing her brother and I just wanted to make my mommy happy.

We sat at the table and mom and I began to make him a card. Mom made one and I made one. I drew a picture of myself after all I did not know how to use the camera. Maybe one day mom and I could send a picture of both of us.

Making cards were fun, I did my very best printing. I think my mom made a book. Her card had more than six pages added to it.

By Alexander Dummer on Unsplash

Life Went On

Our home became very busy. My mom had a new baby and I became a big sister to a brother, I helped mom with getting the diapers and feeding him.

I also helped with many of the chores around the house. My dad was working in the fields on our farm.

We had lots of hay and corn that needed to be brought in. It was great that our farm was a family farm and my dad and his brothers helped each other out. I had hoped that one day I would be out there driving a tractor

Being a big sister was a big job to and I had lots to do. When my mom needed me to do things for her I loved doing it. The only time it got a little too much for me was when my brother would cry and cry.

Mom always seemed to find a way to smooth him.

Time For Dinner

Mom and my Aunts had a huge meal ready for all of the farmers when they came in. Our home smelt so good.

With mom having my brother and me to look after I could not figure out how she cooked a roast or potatoes too.

I overheard my dad and my uncles talking about my Uncle Glen, I became very concerned. I had heard that he had not been seen for quite some time and they were very concerned.

I realized then that we had not even received a letter from him. Mommy was so busy with the baby and I had not seen her write in a very long time.

I went to my room and started making a card for Uncle Glen. I wrote a letter in it and I told him he was missed very much. I hoped he would write me soon. After I wrote it, I put the address on it my mom had on the fridge and put it in our mailbox.

By MealPro on Unsplash

Two Years Later

Mom was really scared, either my Uncle Glen got lost walking around at war or maybe something bad happened. She was crying a lot and there were no more letters. I cried when mom cried and I missed my Uncle Glen very much.

A big brown truck arrived at the house and left us this great big cardboard box. It was addressed to my mom with the same sticker that was always on the mail from my Uncle.

Concerned my mom asked me to go and get dad.

I ran down to the barn as fast as I could. Dad ran back up to the house.

Standing around the box, mom had tears and I can remember her asking my dad to open it. She just could not do it.

Something was wrong, or was it?

As dad took the tape off inside the box was a whole pile of letters my Uncle Glen had written that were never sent. After the pile was lifted up there was a dress for my mom, a doll that was homemade and an antique sign for my dad for the barn. Uncle Glen did not even know about my brother, he had been gone too long.

That was it, old and new treasures.

Mom said nothing and just took all the letters with her. Dad took the other things out and gave me the doll to play with.

Everyone seemed so sad. I never understood what all of this met. I thought it was wonderful to hear from Uncle Glenn. It must have taken him forever to write all of those letters.

Mom Was On The Phone

My mom called that place where my Uncle Glen worked for. She called several other people who had family that went with my Uncle Glen.

It was like mom was trying to figure out something. Other than her cuddles and taking care of my brother and me, my mom was reading the letters like a big book. They must have been interesting.

By Ankush Minda on Unsplash

The Knock At The Door

Mom jumped from her chair, she took my brother and me outside. Balloons were coming from the sky. A plane was way up high in the air. My dad came running, better yet Uncle Glen was landing on our front yard in a parachute.

Uncle Glen was lost at war. if my mom had read the last letter, she would have known there was a surprise to arrive. The best surprise of all.

Excitement all because of a wonderful Cardboard Box, treasures but most of all Uncle Glen came home.

children
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.