Families logo

What A Wonderful Treat

The Joy Of Mixing Up So Much Cocoa And Family

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
What A Wonderful Treat
Photo by Mathilde Langevin on Unsplash

The aroma of chocolate lingering all around the house. Grounded chocolate coffee beans too. It was magical. like something, you would read right out of a fairytale.

Chocolate was only one of the things we could smell, PaPa Jim was making his magnificent blueberry pie. My NaNa De was making her famous yummy fruitcake, watching her slice and dice her cherries and mixing it in a big bowl. A bowl was bigger than my face, which is big. Trust me I am always told I have a big head. Apparently, it runs in our family.

Lots and lots of big heads. I cannot really explain it.

Sometimes my dad just says I was born with a big head because I am so smart. I guess I have some good brains in there.

By Lynda Hinton on Unsplash

Okay, I think you get the picture now. We celebrate Christmas in July so that most of the family can come. We have a very large and well different family. Not everyone gets along. but we make the best of it.

Soon the scent of Chocolate, Blueberry Pies and Fruitcake will vanish, it will be replaced with happiness, tears of joy and then the big complainers in the family.

My PaPa Jim says that at times he wishes he could give the angry ones so much Chocolate, they would burst. (killed by chocolate) As we all know that is a joke as Chocolate is a treat.

I think PaPa Jim just loves treats so much that anything sweet will make everything better.

When I was looking around the Christmas tree I seen in my PaPa Jim’s chair, a whole pile of Chocolate Bars. How did he love that much Chocolate?

I guess he had the big head like I do and ate all that Chocolate ,because he was so smart. He must have had bigger brains than I do.

By American Heritage Chocolate on Unsplash

There it was, one of ten very large Chocolate Christmas Cakes.

Then if you wanted to hear two old grumpy Aunts complain, one wanted a big piece and the other said it be nice to have a Vanilla Cake.

Well, then back and forth they were yelling and all of a sudden one Aunt who was looking so forward to eating the Chocolate Cake took the other Aunt and put her head in the cake.

Well, PaPa looks at me and all he could do was laugh so hard. NaNa De was laughing like he was. All of a sudden the Aunt stood up and her face was all covered in Chocolate.

Instead of getting angry, she started eating the cake off of her face. I guess it must have tasted good. The whole room was laughing and eating cake, I thought we should have made more cake.

PaPa Jim said the right thing, my aunt had so much Chocolate Cake.

We all bursted, and we could have died laughing.

What a mess to. I have never seen anybody covered in that much Chocolate. Instead of calling it Christmas in July, I think we should call it. “Chocolate Explotion”.

Everyone started having so much fun, the cake was so good, PaPa Jim was caught by NaNa De eating more. He was told to only eat one piece.

We all know how much he loved his chocolate, he would find a way.

By Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

We all sat around in a circle. This was so much fun. My mom handed out the gifts one by one. Our summer holiday together wasn’t really about gifts, mom told us it was about being together and having fun.

I honestly can tell you,I loved my chef’s hat and apron, but I loved spending time with everyone.

Looking around the room, seeing everyone I loved and most of all being together, meant more to me than anything. Well, except for “Chocolate Cake”.

I most importantly loved the time I had cooking in the kitchen. Learning how to bake with my grandparents and my mom. I hope one day when I grow up ,I can be a baker.

By sera on Unsplash

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.