Families logo

Dear Nana

A Letter to My Maternal Grandmother

By Summers RosePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are many things a grandmother does in her lifetime, some expected and others more extraordinary. You, my one and only Nana, fall on the latter end of the scale.

Being a beloved mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother, automatically entails years of hard work, devotion, and much love.

You have given that in abundance and more. You have opened your home countless times over the years, not only to family but to others as well. You have been so gracious and hospitable to the teachers who have come to stay with you and Grampy while they do their work. As they did, you made sure their rooms were fresh and and their food was warm so they could concentrate on what they needed to do. You have truly shown what it means to be a woman of hospitality.

You and Grampy have even gone so far as to let numerous family members live with you at different times (some overlapping, even). This is an especially important gift for me, for in your generosity in providing me a home, I was able to stay with my job, travel, and eventually become friends with the man I married. Without you, perhaps that would not have happened.

Nana, I have witnessed your love and support for me time and again. You have been so selfless in helping others. You have been so undeservingly kind to me. You have been there for me when I have been frustrated and scared. You have been a voice of counsel and reason. You have been the giver of hugs and sympathy. You have been happy for me me and hurt with me. I know there were times especially when I was in a dark place, and in talking to you, you were always on my side and tried to show me how I was ok. And I know you weren’t just saying those things because you are always honest. I was upset and worried and you were there with me. But you weren’t only supportive in the bad times. You have been so joyful for me in the process of me marrying the best man in the world, and it’s wonderful you think so highly of him as well.

I truly have the best Nana in the world, and I take you for granted far too often. You definitely deserve more. More time for the things you love. More gratitude for what you've given. More peanut butter cookies and Dots candy. More Red Lobster. More laughter and hugs.

Thank you for being there for me. Thank you for taking care of me and wanting the best for me. Thank you for your desire to help when I felt so low. Thank you for showing me what a woman of faith and love looks like. Thank you for letting me and my siblings come get in bed with you and Grampy in the mornings when we stayed at your house. Thank you for having caramel macchiato creamer in the fridge on occasion. Thank you for wanting us to help y'all decorate your Christmas tree in years past. It really isn't about a bunch of big things, although those are important as well. The little things are what add up over time and form memories we can hold onto.

It takes a special kind of person to be a grandmother, but especially to be the kind of grandmother you are. You have been there for your loved ones time and again. You have made an impact that will leave a handprint forever. If I ever become a grandmother, may I be one like you.

And remember...the wrinkles aren't a bad thing! They come with the territory of being an awesome grandparent!

I love you, Nana!

Love,

Lacey

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Summers Rose

Hi there! Books and stories play an important part in our lives, and I want to inspire people, make them happy, and cause them to think with the stories I create. Maybe teach a little history, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.