Families logo

Deadbeats Should Be Criminally Charged

If you can’t take care of your kid you deserve to rot in prison like the repulsive parents that abuse the kids they decided to keep. Deadbeats should be locked away since they want to be absent. If you want to be gone here’s a reason.

By The Darkest SunrisePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Deadbeats Should Be Criminally Charged
Photo by Joseph Gonzalez on Unsplash

As much as people are trying to force women to birth children, the government should really take steps to start charging deadbeat fathers. Hell, even deadbeat mothers. It’s exhausting the notion that as a single mother I have to wake up every single day to do this entirely on my own.

People love to say “you knew who he was” “how didn’t you see the red flags” “you should have picked a better man” but it’s all bullshit. No man in this entire world showed his truest of colors straight at the beginning of a relationship. Manipulation is almost always at an all time high in toxic relationships from the guy or the girl. The one thing I will never understand is how when a relationship ends some men feel like that voids the responsibility of being a father.

If you want women jailed for abortions, miscarriages, and stillbirth you should be wanting these funky no good deadbeat fathers behind bars even more. If a mother abandoned her children the world would crucify her. I want everyone to keep that same energy for dads.

In a perfect world parents would stay together and create a positive, peaceful environment for their little ones. This world of course isn’t perfect. In the end though, co-parenting is not an unrealistic goal. It becomes unrealistic to when deadbeats become unwilling. That’s the problem in itself.

I created a beautiful little girl with someone who I at the time had loved very much. He became abusive paired with a blaring alcoholism that just wasn’t safe for my daughter or myself. I didn’t speak to him for my entire pregnancy after I left him at seven weeks along. A few months after she was born he contacted me saying he wanted to change, that he was sorry for everything, and that he wanted to meet his daughter. He had gone to rehab. I believed he was turning his life around. There was nothing I wanted more in this world than for my child to have the safest, best version of her daddy. I found out that the day he met her he left to go drinking with one of his “besties”. I was floored. How could he claim he couldn’t financially support her yet because he’s getting back on his feet yet spend money to use again?

It disgusted me. At this point there are single mothers all over the world busting their asses while these dads run around doing either the bare minimum or nothing at all. Having a child means raising a child. There should be no choice for fathers when there is certainly no choice for mothers.

Yes, I decided to have my baby because I personally do not believe in abortion. But he wanted this baby just as much as I did when we found out and even if he hadn’t we shouldn’t have been having unprotected sex then.

These deadbeats, men and women alike, deserve to be jailed for abandoning the beautiful babies that they themselves decided to make.

I will never understand how people can sleep at night knowing they created human life while simultaneously not knowing a damn thing about the life they created. All this absence does is create questions and trauma for innocent children that don’t deserve to feel as if one of the people responsible for their very existence doesn’t even want them. It’s too much to even fathom. I’ve been there. It’s wrecked me. I will do everything in my power from all that I’ve learned to not let it have that same negative affect on my little girl.

She will be raised knowing the choices her father made. She will know that none of it is her fault. I will make her aware of the chances that he had. I will not protect his name because when she gets older she will know the warning signs. She will love herself enough to let go when she has to. I am raising a strong beautiful little girl to be an equally strong beautiful young woman.

Single moms out there I know you are tired but you are rocking it! These deadbeats belong under the jail and we belong on an actual pedestal.

values
Like

About the Creator

The Darkest Sunrise

Hello beautiful souls! Open book vibes over here!

Check out my podcast where you can learn to become your best self! <3

https://open.spotify.com/show/5cwcBivrINaGKqRLtBaGOx?si=kJMHUF_yQj2epM84RYSi_Q

Have the best day and drink your water! <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Leila Wicked2 years ago

    Seriously, yes. Not a single mom, myself, not a mama to any humans at all actually, but have seen the struggle and sacrifice and other things i know nothing about. All with a brave face and rarely a complaint from some single Mama's i know and I've always admired them and been in awe of their strength and know that it takes a special individual to step up like that. It takes characteristics that we all do not possess. I just want to say that you all are awesome. Your efforts don't go unnoticed and your babies will know, one day, all you have done for them and all you have not done for them and that realization will inspire a strength and determination inside them that cannot be taught, only sparked. And i just don't understand the mentality behind walking away from part of yourself. That's just something i cannot wrap my brain around. I can't really speak to it too much, never having experienced it myself, but it's always baffled me, to say the least, as an external party whenever I've witnessed it. Sorry, hope I'm not overstepping with my comments. Only sincere respect and praise intended!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.