Families logo

Confessions

A sobering story

By Lance Christopher StevensPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Confessions
Photo by Josep Castells on Unsplash

For 34 years I lived a life of denial and pretending to be someone I knew in my heart I was not ! Growing up in the south we are pushed to the status que all our child hood is riddled with shuttle pushes in what we should want ! On December 2 2011 I decided that I was not going to live in misery any longer !

We had been having issues with one on the 4 boys I had been raising for 15 years !the boys were amazing kids ! Teenage years were very rough ! Our children need us to be parents at this portion of there lives . My wife wanted to have the easy friendship role and I was the jerk of the house the one to say no the Disciplinarian! A year prior to me leaving She sat by and let one of them say that she was his parent not me ! The night I left she told me if I was done with her I needed to leave ! I told her the only way I was leaving without my two daughters was in a body bag! So I grabbed the girls and went to my birth mothers ! I had taken them to school the following Monday She checked them out and kept them from me for over a month ! I filed for divorce and she agreed to a seven and seven rotation ! So on my day to pick the girls up she had already got them from school and decided that there would be no 7 and 7 so custody order that I was Coerced into agreeing to was only 7 and 7 when they were on Sumer break ! And since I was supposed to pay alimony until the divorce was final she went from 196 worth of child support 7/7 to 200 alimony and 718 for child support and I had to provide everything for the girls when I had them !

Unfortunately for me my divorce dragged on for two years ! I lived at my mothers paying all utilities and was able to really have enough finances to give the girls anything they wanted ! Unknown to anyone else I was still in prison ! I watched my 18 year old niece and her boyfriend sleep at moms several times ! But I my self was not allowed to even have friends over ! The southern double standard was hard to swallo but I did for my daughters.

I lived like that for a little over five years ! I dated here and there but not one time in those years had I found anyone worthy of Pushing the issue of my partner or a boyfriend being any part of the family gatherings. However in may of 2017 a man that I had been chatting with since January wanted to meet so he flew me out to him ! I have to say that we clicked he was nothing like anyone I had ever seen ! It didn’t take long for me to fall in love with him. In June he said guess where we are going for your 40 th birthday ? My mom was sitting next to me and heard the conversation! When I hung up the phone she informed me that because she doesn’t get to go anywhere I had to pack all my stuff including the girls and get out ! No family offered any help so I was homeless for almost six months !

In October I purchased a home which took almost all my funds . I had sixty dollara to stretch after first check and 27 after the next ! I literally ate nothin but cereal and milk and bologna sandwichs from 2017 to 2019!

I was diagnosed with cancer in september had two surgeries in september and two in october ! I could no longer malnurish or supply my ex wife who lives with 3 of the four men we raised and the two girls ina small two bedroom house with all windows borded up! I fell behind on my child support i tried to catch up later and all but 2 grand was for 2019 ! In December the bitter snake i divorced told my children not only does your dad have cancer he has hiv! I have not seeny children since February ! When my oldest daughter graduated i went roo the stadium and was told that i could have my ticket if i had six grand ! Her disdain for me hav only grown stronger over the years and now she has completely poisend my relationship with my girls they!

The man that i fell in love with decided that he didnt want to do rhe long distance anymore so adter the second cancer surgery he cut all ties ! Unfortunately i crumbled imto addiction anxiety and depression! He reached out three minutes to midnigbt on new years eve then banashed again ! i feel his love to this day even though he refuses to speak i lnow the love is there ! My love is unconditional he is the love of my life and i will not give that away ! Now single i have fun here in there and find comfort when someone sends me a picture of my ex’s happieness! Thats how much i love him hes right up there with my kids !

Tomorrow would Make our three year anniversary unfortunately our relationship ended this past September! Not only did I loose my partner but through addiction depression and anxiety I lost everything! It took losing my two daughters to realize that I had stopped fighting for them long ago ! To my ex I’m sorry for not trusting you and projecting my fears Also for the heartache in the past ! To my children who have awakened me by their absence I will get better and start fighting for you in the proper manor ! I lost all the loves of my life because I was chasing fears! No more I am sober I’m focused and I know what I have to do!

divorced
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.