Families logo

Coming Together

A Young boy Finds His Dad 14 Years Later

By Jon MettsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Coming Together
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Many people want to be mom's and dad's, and to those that are well we know how when our kids are away from us how it feels as part of us are gone as well. Well I felt that way and thought after my 1 st child that would go away so my wife and I had 4 more still never went away. A few months back I was talking to my best childhood friend, Her and I always had a way of coming back together and picking up like we never left each other.

Well after talking for some time we came to a point in our talks about her son Dakota and after we was talking about when she got Prego with him and everything she sent me a picture... Boy that got me I then asked her the time line again. YEP there was a chance. So I asked if we could do a DNA test and we did. Well fast-forward to now and looks as if I had a little boy.

Now before the test came back I got to bring him home to meet everyone and let me tell you EVERYONE said no test needed .. I for one would agree, after getting to know him it is like the lost piece of the puzzle has been found my heart is now full and happy. When he talks and he looks at me I see well ME... I am new to this feeling and I can't change the past about something I never even knew about... But I can be there from now on till I die...

There is so much that we can learn from each other and I know deep in my heart he is my boy. And I will do what ever it takes to make sure he has everything he needs to make that happen, It has been hard trying to get my other 5 kids understand why I spend so much time with there new brother and I am not leaving them out. But I feel as if I owe it to him to have our one day every other week to get to know each other.

parents
1

About the Creator

Jon Metts

Just a dad of 6 kids wanting to try something I never thought I'd be good at but was always told I should so please be nice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.