Families logo

Colourful Covid Creations

Brightening lives during a dark time

By Angela DaceyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Moving twice in the last year, during a pandemic, has had its challenges and blessings. There is nothing like purging, physically and metaphorically, to have you assess the container we hold our thoughts, feelings and belongings inside.

Tucked away in a small drawer sitting in my living room cabinet was a collection of craft items. I had kept them all from when my children were small. Colourful beads, string, fake flowers, googly sticker eyes, pinecones, hot glue gun, craft scissors and crystals left over from a chandelier sat waiting patiently for me to find them once again.

I sat in my favourite turquoise chair by my sunny window and reminisced about the days when these items were used. My first thought took me back to days of camping in Awenda, a provincial park in Ontario. We took the kids camping there every year. It was always a highlight of the summer. However, one year in particular, I remember hearing the week of our camping vacation was calling for non-stop rain. Knowing we had three other families with children joining us that week, I went into action planning activities, games and crafts that would keep the kids amused and happy while in a kitchen tent, outside in the rain.

The most popular of my rain day planning was making jewellery of all kinds and colours. Seven children squished on to a picnic table with every kind of bead, string etc. they could imagine waiting for the fun. The day was a success. I still have a pair of pink earrings I made while joining the kids in their creation process.

In April of 2020, I sat in my turquoise chair by my sunny window and smiled. Life had definitely changed. My children are ten years older, I had divorced and my life looked completely different. One thing that remained the same was my love of colour and creation. Being a teacher and consultant in colour psychology, I understand the power of how colours affects our thoughts, feelings and behaviours. Looking at all the items I kept over the last decade from this camping trip brought me joy, not only from the memories, but from seeing all the colours!

With lockdown from the pandemic and our hectic schedules coming to a halt, there was no better time to lay out all the craft items and create something to inspire and uplift the spirits of others while many people were feeling alone and scared during that time.

When I teach, I use a crystal prism to explain how light is a combination of all colours combined. Laid out before me was a ton of crystal tear drops. I saw beads large and small of every colour and had a clear vision of what I was to create.

Crystal Beaded Suncatchers!

Before I began creating a suncatcher, I took a moment to think of a friend. I closed my eyes and asked the universe what two colours my friend needed. The colours would pop into my mind and I immediately started creating.

It became very interesting how each suncatcher was exactly the colours a friend would need. Here are some examples of how each colour connects to a thought or feeling.

Red = Passion / Health / Grounding

Orange = Joy / Playfulness / Hands on Creating

Yellow = Courage / Empowerment / Mental Stimulation

Green = Balance / Relaxing / Trust

Blue = Truth / Calming / Voicing

Indigo = Inner Peace / Connection to spirit / Seeing the big picture

Violet = Belief / Creation / Soulmate Love

Pink = Self Love / Self Worth / Acceptance

White = Divinity / Purity / Surrender

Black = Mystery / Respect / Quiet

Once the suncatcher had been completed, they were either delivered on a doorstep or through the mail. With over 30 suncatchers made for friends, they were delivered all over North America. In addition, they helped to uplift the spirits of men recovering from addiction. While teaching a story sharing course one summer at a rehabilitation center, I became connected to these men and kept in touch with them on their journey. Each suncatcher brought some happiness, love and light into their homes during a difficult time.

Aside from bringing happiness to others with this “Covid Creation” (my little name I call my crafts), I transformed myself during the process. I had a purpose each day during lockdown to get up and make a suncatcher for a friend. I felt complete peace and bliss while cutting the fishing line, stringing the crystals, choosing the beads and creating a new pattern each time. I found myself listening and singing to Sanskrit chants while creating, which infused the suncatcher with love. The simple act of putting my love of colours, crystals and creation together was exactly what my friends needed during this time and especially what I needed to manage through each day.

To date I still make these beaded suncatchers but now they hang from the bottom of my new colourful creation – colourful birdhouses! However, that’s another creation story for another time ;)

Colourfully Yours,

Angela

art
2

About the Creator

Angela Dacey

A colourful woman living her passion by supporting people in feeling lighter and shining brighter. Focused on personal development & spirituality with colour psychology.

www.livelifecolourfully.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.