Families logo

Christmas With Tiro

A Short Fictional Story Based on my Children's Book Series: Rainbow In a Jar and Tiro's Grand Adventures

By Winter MadisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
(Rainbow in a Jar by Winter Madison)

"Tiro! Tiro!" Called mommy. I opened my eyes, not knowing what day it was. As soon as I opened my eyes, my mommy was standing in my room, with a big smile on her face and her ugly Christmas sweater on. "Oh yes! It's Christmas!" I shouted jumping out of my bed. I ran downstairs with mommy, shouting "Merry Christmas!" all through the house. Momma was downstairs already, sitting near the Christmas tree with a big smile.

Our Christmas tree was decorated with so many colorful ornaments and a lot of colorful lights! There were presents under the tree for Mommy, Momma, and me! There were Christmas cookies in the kitchen that we made on Christmas Eve, and our whole family was coming over later to celebrate with us. Christmas is a special time of year when we get to spend time with our loved ones, and I looked forward to it every year. It was my favorite holiday!

Mommy brought in hot chocolate with lots of marshmallows for everyone. We all sat drinking our hot chocolate and watching Christmas movies until the rest of the family arrived. We usually didn't open gifts until all of our family got there. What is your family tradition for opening gifts on Christmas?

It was hours later and my whole family was here! My Uncles and Aunts, Grandparents, and cousins! We all sat in the living room, and it was MY job to hand out everyone's gifts! My cousins and I all take turns each year handing out gifts, and this year it was my turn! I was so excited to give everyone's gifts, I loved seeing everyone's smiling faces when I handed them their gifts. In our family, everyone waits until we all have our gifts before opening them. Once everyone had their gifts, it was time to open them!

My mommy got a beautiful charm bracelet that Momma and I picked out. My Momma got a new laptop that Mommy and I picked out! My cousins all got cool toys that we picked out for them as a family, and they loved them! My Uncles and Aunts got gift cards to their favorite restaurants! They loved their gift cards. My Grandparents got gift cards to their favorite restaurants too, but we also gave them a brand new tv, since they needed a new one to watch their favorite shows. Oh and me? What did I get you ask?

I got the brand new bike I asked for! My new bike was my favorite color red, with lightning stripes down the sides! I had a cool red helmet to match, with plastic hair sticking out of the top that made it look like I had a mohawk! I was so excited to get my gift! I ran to my Mommy and Momma and thanked them over and over for their gift. What do you want for Christmas?

Now it was time to sit down for Christmas dinner altogether as a family. My parents cooked a great Christmas feast! We had ham, turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, candied yams, (and my favorite) macaroni and cheese! We also made lots of pies and cookies for dessert on Christmas Eve, we did that every year. My Uncles and Aunts all had a pie-eating contest every year. We all laugh and laugh when they had this contest, it was so funny to see them race to eat so much pie! What is your favorite family tradition on Christmas?

Lastly, it was time for everyone to go home. We all said goodbye, as Christmas had now come to an end. It was time for me to get in the bath and go to bed. On Christmas night, after I am all clean and snuggled in my bed, my Mommy will come and read a Christmas story to me. This year, she read a story about Santa Clause! I listened to my story and drifted off to sleep. This was a wonderful Christmas, I loved spending it with my family.

I hope everyone enjoys the holidays with your loved ones. Happy Holidays!

literature
1

About the Creator

Winter Madison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.