Families logo

Christmas: The afterglow effect

Perhaps you have experienced this miracle of the holiday without even realizing it.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Christmas: The afterglow effect
Photo by Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

Christmas afterglow

I began taking note of something that happened each year beginning the day after Christmas. I now refer to it as the "afterglow" effect of the holiday. At first, I thought it might take place because a lot of people took down their trees and decorations and there was less demand for electricity. I first noticed this effect as a teenager and have seen it continue through the decades.

The lights on my tree and in the windows seemed to become brighter from December 26 until we took everything down. There would be a sense of peace and calm in my home that has no rational explanation. I would find myself sitting in a chair nearest the tree for hours just enjoying the tranquility. I thought this year would be different for two reasons but it was not. My husband passed away on March 7, 2021 and I had some tough moments during the holidays. There is also the fact that my tree was different this year.

Christmas visuals

My trees have always had red and green lights, even when we used an artificial aluminum tree. There is something mystical about that combination and I enjoy seeing these colors on other houses and in businesses during the holiday season. This year I did not feel like putting up a tree and I had left my big tree in the attic of the home we moved from. I was heading into Kroger on December 20 and noticed they had marked down their live trees from $35.00 to $5.00 so I purchased one.

I put it up and realized all my decorations were at the former home and my money was tight. My daughter gave me a large strand of white chasing lights that filled the tree and my sister in law gave me a set of white lights that I put on the window. My son bought me a set of blue lights which was very different and he also purchased a large box of red, silver, and white, ornaments. My grandchildren came over on Christmas Eve to help me decorate and the tree morphed before my eyes. It actually looked quite pretty and the twinkling, dancing, white lights added to the effect.

The glow comes after

While at my daughter's home on Christmas Day I began missing my spouse and I felt depressed practically the entire time. When I got home that night I could feel the change in the atmosphere and I sat in the chair nearest the tree for a while. The afterglow was in my home and I was loving it. Although my tree did not have the magical combination of red and green lights it still gave off that peaceful aura.

I am sitting near my Christmas tree now as I type this story. My husband of 45 years is no longer with me and hundreds of people who were part of my past Christmas experience have also died. I did not have gifts from 30 relatives under the tree nor did I get to enjoy a real nativity Christmas ply this year. To top it all off I did not have the colors of lights on the tree that I desired. In spite of all of that the afterglow of Christmas is with me and I realize that it comes from within.

I am certain there are others who have experienced this afterglow from Christmas that extends until New Year's day or a few days after. It's a time to reflect upon the meaning of the season and gain new perspective. Its also a time to get some much needed peace of mind.

grief
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.