Families logo

Christmas 2019

Gabby Batovsky

By Gabby BatovskyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Time before presents

This Christmas I got to spend it with my parents and my little boy. Even though he wasn’t too interested in opening gifts I still loved every minute of it.

Christmas is more than just gifts. Spending it with either family and/or friends is what it’s all about. I’ve learned that presents can be out grown in a matter of months, even minutes. Family though, is never outgrown. Family will always be there no matter what.

Even though my parents had gotten me Christmas gifts I never truly wanted anything from them. I just wanted to down fine with them. Even though they gave me things I could use for a long time the memories will never go away. They will always be there and I have a reminder of all the good times I have had with them and my son.

My son though will always remember who was there for him. He is only 2 years old. Daniel, will know who loves him and who just wants to be there just to see other people in pain.

Kids nowadays only want the best from parents or Santa, if they believe in himself. I know for sure my child will know what’s really worth anything during the holidays. Time is the most valuable thing you could give to anyone. Your time with your child can determine how the relationship is between you and your child.

Christmas, and other holidays, should be focused on family. One day when they are all grown up you will realize that time cannot he bought. Children only want time with parents.

Even though I didn’t get him much this year, the small moments that we had together will always put weigh the big presents that I could have gotten him. Those big items children usually get, they grow out of him. They don’t always play with them after Christmas.

The other big thing is that sometimes they are very ungrateful for the things that you do get for them. I can’t stress enough that the most important thing is time.

Before when I didn’t get to see my son a lot the time that I didn’t have with him got to me sooo badly. I had to have two jobs just to get out of bed and be myself. The very little time that I had with him I missed out on so much stuff. I missed him getting to know me and to get to know him.

One day in the future I know I will treasure all the time I do have with him now. I would rather be with him than anyone in this world. He makes my time so much more than anything could have ever did. Most times I think how could I get through this. In the end though holidays can’t get much better without my child.

Any other holiday like New Years or Labor Day I could care less about having time with my son. I only say that because those aren’t really as big of a deal like Christmas. Christmas time is known to be when families get together even if it’s for only a few hours. Christmas is when families actually want to do nice things for one another. I’ve never had so much gratefulness in my heart on any other holiday besides Christmas.

You ever wonder why Christmas is so much bigger than Easter?? Well I believe it’s because Easter families don’t really get together with their own families. They like to have something little, but big, with there own families. Christmas is once every year and families get together like it’s nothing. I’m reality though that time that they spend together can do the greatest thing ever. It brings some families back together. It can bring a family a lot closer as well.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.