Families logo

Carolyn Anderson

A Life Remembered

By Atomic HistorianPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Yesterday was one of the hardest days of my life. We lost one of the greatest people this world has ever seen. None of us deserved her, but she was always there for us. She gave our lives meaning. No matter what happened, she was there. It is with immense sadness that we lost our grandmother, our Carolyn, and our GG. Our sadness is only compounded by the knowledge that we lost her at the beginning of her favorite time of year.

She was our rock. Our light on a moonless night. She was always there. No matter the time or day.

When I needed comfort, I would always call her. When I felt unloved or unwanted, she wrapped me in the warmth of her love. There is no word for how I feel right now. I just hope that she is happy and at peace.

These are the words that I wrote on November 24, 2022. The day after my grandmother passed. I have written a lot in my life, but these were the most painful words I’ve ever written.

My grandmother was one of the greatest people I have ever known. Carolyn Anderson was born on September 16, 1945 in Dallas, Texas to R.V. and Ophie (Love) Camp. She worked hard all her life. She was the oldest of her siblings, and as such she took care of all her younger siblings. This would be a trend throughout her life. When she grew into adulthood, she would continue to be there for her babies. When I say her babies, most would assume I mean her children and grandchildren. But no, she took care of an incomprehensible amount of children throughout her life.

My grandfather served in the Air Force for 25 years, during some of the hardest times to be in the military. The mid-60s to early 80s were a time in the military where there was little to no services available to military families like there is today. One of the main things bases lacked was childcare. This was often left up to parents to figure out.

Due to this, my grandmother was one of what I am sure is a countless number of military wives that provided in-home daycares for other military families. Through this informal system of support, my grandmother helped raise an unknown number of children, while raising her three daughters(Rhonda Crouse, Genipher Miller and Kristina Anderson). But this was not her only amazing feat.

No, when my grandparents moved stations back to the United States, this crazy, amazing woman decided that her daughters were grown enough that she should start college. And that she did. So, while raising three teenage daughters, my grandmother went back to school, eventually earning her associates degree. And began working in the banking industry.

Then along came me. And now she had a new baby to help raise. And that she did. For the first three years of my life she was my main caretaker while my mom worked. Every mess I made. Every weird injury or incident I managed to get myself into. She was there. And all while still working as much as she could.

This would be her life for the next decade or so, as my cousins, Toni and Devante would soon follow me into this world. And you know what this headstrong little lady did? She continued to work her full time job, and still be there for her two youngest grandchildren.

For many years she continued to work for banks, but later in the mid-90s she wanted a change. So, she began working at Focus on the Family. This would be her home away from home for many years. While there, she rose to become the manager of their bookstore. A job she took great pride in, as she also loved sharing her faith.

She managed to do all of this, while still maintaining her home, crocheting, needle working, or sewing something for somebody she loved. It wasn’t Christmas if you didn’t get something from grandma that she made.

Thanksgiving to Christmas was her favorite time of year. You haven’t seen decorating unless you’ve seen my grandparents house during a holiday. My grandmother had every kind of holiday decoration imaginable. And she didn’t just have one set. No, no, that wouldn’t do for Carolyn Sue Anderson. No, she had a different set for each year. Yes, there were the traditional standbys. It wasn’t December unless you saw her Christmas village out. Or Easter without her stone eggs arranged neatly in a basket. Or flag day without her yard being lined with the red, white, and blue. No, when you went to grandma and grandfather’s house, you got a feast for your eyes and for your belly.

But that was just how my grandmother was. Always doing more than was expected. When my brothers, Patric and Jason Crouse, and cousin Taijeron Hooks came along in the early 2000s, this indomitable little lady took all the time out of her busy schedule to be there for them.

But, as mentioned, Carolyn Anderson was never satisfied with just helping to raise the children of her immediate family. No, at a time when most people start to take it slow, and ease into retirement, she went to work at the school district as a caretaker for special needs kids at the local elementary school. She would continue to do this for many years, until her doctors told her that she needed to stop.

When Carolyn was finally convinced to take time out for herself, she still continued to be active in all aspects of her family’s life. She was always there when we needed someone to talk to. She continued to stay busy in retirement with various hobbies and she loved to continuously do projects around her home to make it better for her husband, Mack, and herself. When she was not busy with all her little projects, she made time to visit her family as often as she could. Making the drive several times a year from Colorado Springs to Greeley to visit her great-grandchildren, Sean and Juliette, and Nain.

Carolyn Anderson was the light of many lives. And she will be forever missed. Carolyn Sue Anderson, may have passed away on November 23, 2022, but she will never be forgotten. in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Carolyn is survived by her husband Mack Anderson; daughters, Rhonda Crouse, Genipher Miller and Kristina Anderson. Her six grandchildren, Eric Anderson, Toni Hooks, Devante Hooks, Patric Crouse, Taijeron Hooks, and Jason Crouse. And two great grandchildren, Sean and Juliette Anderson, and Nain Santiago.

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Atomic Historian is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.