Families logo

Boss Mom

This is my Mother

By Pamela Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Panda and Her Mother

My mom is my shooting star, one in a million among all the others; she answered my one wish I once made of having a family and residing in America. Ever since the day she came to Shandong Jinana, China; I was wrapped around her arm. There was this feeling that I never felt before, it was beyond strange. My heart was pumping in confusion, this love was unfamiliar to me. It was warm, cozy, and sincere all at the same time, giving me a sense of euphoria. How did I never know about this strange felling before? A foreign taste that embedded a sense of fulfillment and I never wanted to lose that from that day.

The day I met my mom, even with her injured hip, she enthusiastically knelled down to wrap me in her arms. Not knowing the pain that she had but just now realizing, I can’t imagine how she managed to go across from U.S. to China just to get me. Being adopted and becoming one of her children was as natural as a butterfly hatching from its cocoon. Looking back at how delightful I was, December 6th has become an important day for me; a day where I have a mother for the very first time.

 Ever since, the day I officially became a daughter, a sister, and a part of the whole family, I feel I stumbled upon treasure. I constantly look up to and admire my mom, so naturally I followed in her footsteps. I found peace, comfort, and a sense of direction in her presence. Everything was just as a dream, living in the moment and always having a mom to call on was surreal to me. A mom who not only gave me the love and care I needed, but also a mom who has saved my life. She became my hero.

 After I came to the U.S., my mom discovered that I had a brain tumor after a short time together. Soon I started going through chemotherapy. There were a lot of hard days and tangled vines to unknot. But my mom decided to put all her time to help me and care for my needs among all six of my siblings. Communication was like a bird talking to a squirrel, in an utter confusion. But, in a way she still understood me through a connection of feelings. As time went on, I evolved from a feather to a rock for my mom to carry. I can’t imagine enough how strong she is as a mother, who in time continuing to take in more kids who are in need of a family. My mother is not afraid of getting hurt, every scratch is nothing to her. The tears are too valuable for her to lose. As I walked the time with my mom, I learned that myself is completely different to the person she is. I thought of myself want to be like her, soft but tough at the same time.

 Growing up, I could only see with my left eye. The story I carried with me was shared from my mom. When I was found and brought to the orphanage, I had a tumor growing beside my right eye. Soon it was removed which left me with one blind eye. The surgery did not completely fix all. It left me with fluids that constantly built in the corner of my eye. And caused myself to have a red eye as I constantly to wipe the fluid away. Now I don’t have to worry about it anymore after she found a great eye surgeon to fix my issue.  Now as I mention it, my gratitude is growing more than ever. My mom has cured all my issues that I had before. But the parts of me before will always live in my heart. My mom once told me to never forget my origin.

 Adapting to a new environment was a real struggle. Trying to be schooled and fit in with the rest of kids in school was not natural during that time. My mother was there for me every step of the way. She always let me know that she is not expecting for me to be perfect, just try to do my best and I will always be her proud daughter. This reminder continues to reside in my head. I now continue with my journey. “Doing my best and forget the rest.”

 Each mark, each brush stroke, I received every color from mother. The one of teal, was comforting. The blood orange, was joyful. And the ultraviolet, was sentimental. As many color as there are on the color wheel, it all represents the memories of the times with mom. My mother was my teacher, my nurse, and my best guardian. Everything I missed out on from living in the orphanage, I have gained in a household. There’s nothing else I don’t have anymore. A mother I continue to call, continue to receive her love for me. She fulfills my life by walking beside me. Making sure I can continue to move move forward and become the best of myself. She has became my guardian angel. Making sure my choices are under light. For every mistake that I drew, it was erased. I call my mom the everlasting battery, she is continuing to support my life and every other child she brought into her household.

Here, seeing with my one blind eye I see only her light, luminating the path for me to continue my walk of life.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Pamela

I am not experienced in poetry writing, but I very much enjoy the idea of writing as a hobby. It is definitely another form of art for me while my profession is in the fine art practice. Wander with me and my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.