Families logo

Boss Mom

My mom is a supermom, guiding me and teaching me throughout my childhood

By Sarah MwangiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Boss Mom
Photo by Mathilde Langevin on Unsplash

My mom taught me how to cook. Variants of meat, dyed red with chili sauce and garlic powder. Fried rice crisped to perfection. Breads of every flavor: rosemary, honey and herb, banana, sourdough -filling the house with a sweet aroma that always made my mouth water. I would need these skills in college, she’d say. I would cook for my family, she’d hope. I was excited to learn -to pick up a knife and chop and dice. I’m not a very good cook. I set off the smoke alarm in the kitchen. Twice.

My mom taught me how to sew. The easiest, I learned, is a square pillow with a straight stitch. I made a pink pillow, a green pillow, a zebra patterned pillow, and a pillow with reversible sequins. You make enough pillows to fill the entire 1st half of your bed and the living room couches, you begin to move on to clothing. Skirts and tube tops were my specialty, albeit the most common and beginner of clothing. I had skirts to last me until the next summer season! My American Girl dolls needed new clothing, but my mom insisted I make them on my own. I tried. I cannot tell you how incredibly hard it is to sew a doll-sized long sleeve shirt.

My mom taught me mathematics. Oh god, I hated math. By grade 4, it had become my greatest adversary. The 4th grade multiplication charts were the worst. We’d have tests every week, designed to test students’ progress on such. I thought I’d have a break, but coming home from school was like going to a second class. My mother made me heaps of flash cards, quizzing me to remembrance! It was horrible, and my brain hurt from intellectual exhaustion by the end of each day. But hey, at least I got perfect scores on all those tests.

My mom taught me how to organize. Every summer entertained a new family trip. My mom planned everything to a t; From the activities, to each meal of the day. One summer, we were planning a family trip to Florida. My mom booked a hotel suite about an hour away from DisneyWorld. I remember buying a notebook from the store, so I could write down everything my mother planned. I’d ask her what we’d be doing on the following Tuesday, and I’d write it down- even when she’s already done so on her notes app. I felt like an assistant. Or better yet, the co-organizer of our family vacation. I now plan every event and activity on my notes app.

My mom taught me to stay active. My mother had a plethora of sports and extracurriculars under her belt. She played volleyball, tennis, ran constantly, and she would dance her cultural dances at her high school. I played varsity tennis for 3 years at my high school, and run to stay fit. I also actively involve myself in my enriching culture.

I attempt to emulate the good nature of my mom. Her excellent and delicious cooking, her ability to sew, her crazy math whiz ways, her organization, and active perseverance. I’m in so much gratitude for all the things my mother passed on to me. Her lessons throughout my childhood continue to affect me in the greatest of ways. Although I was stubborn and selfish, naive and hard putting, my mother showed up. Even with long nights in the hospital, she showed strength. I strive to be like my mom, and re-teach the lessons and skills she has taught me. I strive to be like my boss mom.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.