Families logo

Being Homeless

By: E.V.A Roberts

By Vicky AlcazarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Being homeless isn't always a good thing. One thing to know about being homeless is difficult when you have a baby. I had my daughter at nineteen. My husband's mom had us in a program to help us get a place. After being with her for three days, she had us move to a hotel. She was not allowed for us to stay there for more than a month. The program did not help us for the first few days because I did not have my cash aid card.

I had to wait, and when my husband's mom saw that he got his stimulus check, she refuses to let us stay with her for three days. My feelings told me she wanted us to say we would give her some of our money. Then she said we could go with his sister and split the bill. That was the worse mistake we had ever made. She didn't come to the hotel for two days and then decided she would come and go. My husband and I thought we should have got a hotel for both of us and my daughter. After, we ended getting money for the hotel and stayed there for a week, and ended up moving. We moved from one hotel to another. The last hotel we went to was a motel in Central LA. We stayed looking for a place to live, and our goal was that in August, we would move. We looked everywhere for a place to live, difficult because it was the three of us.

My biggest fear was that our whole family would end up in the street, and the DCFS would remove my baby. My husband helped us and found a place that the landlord had a daughter. So we called, and she said we could see the room even though it small for us. We explain to her that my grandparents kicked us out. Then his mom took us in until our daughter was born, and we did not care unless we found a place. She told us to do the paperwork and to call her when completed. I did the paperwork wrong the first time, and she gave me the chance to redo the work. So she helped us go through it because she wanted us to move in. So we ended up moving ten days after we paid six months in advance. We moved everything from the hotel. Then we moved all the stuff that we left from my grandparent's place. I had a stranger who helps with some of the moving.

Then after two days of fixing our things, we had finally moved into our own space. A few issues happened while living in our room. It was small as my daughter kept growing. She loves using her walker, and that was difficult to use in a small bedroom. The one big blessing I have was that my landlord was understanding and moved us into a larger bedroom. Now my daughter has a closet of her own. Also, she has a bigger space to walk and even use her walker. My husband and I have a larger bedroom to do our own thing. And now we are trying to figure out a way to earn more money and since it's hard for us to go out with everything that is going on in this world. But since my daughter has all these opportunities to live a better life. She has everything she needs. My husband and I do not have to worry about her not having anything. I feel like if you keep trying, anything is possible.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Vicky Alcazar

Im a mother of a nine month old. Please Send tips and I will be forever grateful

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.