Families logo

Be the Example

Your children are watching

By MoriaCavandishPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Be the example

Grace is when somebody hurts you, and you try to understand their situation, instead of trying to hurt them back.

As I age and my anger subsides and logic and reason take over I see things differently and as much as I wish to hurt someone back (defensiveness, we all have it) when they hurt me, it feels wrong now, and I see the anger in their eyes. I see the hurt even more now. I wonder what pain they are going through. Maybe in our society, we have become so dysfunctional that it is now more the norm not to care. Selfishness has taken over, greed, power, money, and THINGS.

I often wondered what might be wrong with me. Why do the little second-hand gifts my boyfriend brings me, give more joy then if he were to go buy me something? I see the act of doing something as more important than the outcome or thing given. Pick me flowers. I will appreciate that more than 100 store bought roses. Anyone can buy roses, but to stop alongside a road after a hard day's work to pick someone wildflowers that is worth more than a diamond ring, or a winning lottery ticket. Not that I’d turn the lottery ticket down wink-wink. Don't we all miss our childhood, at least parts of it?

The lazy weekends dangling our feet in the water eating popsicles that dripped brightly colored streaks down our arms. Foolish smiles and no cares in the world. We need to bring back old values, morals. where indeed it took a community to raise children, to protect our future generations. I am all for technology, it has certainly bettered my world, I admit this. But it's also strained my world, I am sure you would agree. My children are older, grown and gone. But I sit and stare at my empty kitchen table. I miss the family meals. A time to connect. I miss the open door policy in our house. The door was never locked. Friends and family came in, with a wave and a smile. We need more family camping trips. More game nights. What was that famous line, With great power comes great responsibility. Well, this applies to the internet, and to the parent. You have this amazing sponge ready to get out there and learn it all. Teach balance. Teach then about the rainforest. Teach them to love the earth and to be proud to be Canadian. Fight for what's good, and stand together to defeat what is bad. If not for us, but for our children, and our children’s children. Our world is changing fast, and as we age, and slowly slip out of the spotlight, our children now take the lead.

So we must teach them compassion, and strength, and love. Let's care more when someone needs help crossing the street, it doesn’t matter if you like them or not, just help them. If someone falls pick them up, and when someone is crying ask them if they are ok.

All it takes is a smile and a hello to change someone's day, maybe even their life. Find joy in being kind, show your children by being that person. After all, aren’t Moms and Dads the first heroes our children will have? Smile and feel good when you give up your seat on a bus or the train. Be the example and go out of your way to do at least one good deed and after a while it becomes normal, children see this, they watch us, so remember, be the example.

advice
1

About the Creator

MoriaCavandish

Born and raised on the beautiful West Coast in British Columbia Canada

All stories, poems, erotica and works are the sole property of

Moria Cavandish 2004- 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.