Families logo

Agape’ Love Senior Care

Interview with Tyre Larkins

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1

According to the Administration for Community Living (acl.gov), in the United States, the population age 65 and older numbered 52.4 million in 2018 (the most recent year for which data are available). They represented 16% of the population, more than one in every seven Americans. The number of older Americans has increased by 13.7 million (or 35%) since 2008, and that number continues to grow.

With the growing number of older adults there also comes a growing need for elderly care. That’s why professionals like Tyre Larkins are so necessary. Tyre is a medical professional helping the elderly stay in their homes while still receiving care. We sat down with Tyre and asked her just how she got started.

•Tell us a little about yourself.

Tyre: My name is Tyre Larkins and I’ve lived in Annapolis my entire life. I have 3 amazing children. I noticed my love and passion for seniors a long time ago so when the opportunity to get my CNA/GNA certification came, I jumped on it. It was the best decision I’ve made. I’ve worked with seniors in every setting(home care, nursing home, assisted living, hospital). I love the bonds and relationships I make with my seniors even if it’s just for a short time.

•What was the inspiration for starting your company?

Tyre: My main inspiration for starting Agape’ Love Senior Care was my grandmother. The unconditional love she showed to me was the same kind of love I wanted to provide to every senior I had the privilege of caring for. I’ve taken care of seniors in many different settings and there were a few things I noticed no matter where I worked. Many seniors would prefer to stay in their home, some families are not able to provide the necessary assistance that they may need in the home and some seniors just need companionship. So, Agape’ Love Senior Care’s main inspiration was the senior community and being whatever the senior needed to enjoy their golden years comfortably in their home.

•National Caregiver Day just passed. With that in mind, what do you think makes a great caregiver?

Tyre: There are a few attributes to a great caregiver. Some I think are more important than others.

Patience -we may some times know better and more efficient ways to handle tasks or situations but the senior still may think their way is better. We could argue all day about why our way would be the better choice or we can allow the senior to do their way.

Empathy- when a caregiver is bought in, it can be an lifestyle change to the senior. Of course they don’t think they need a “babysitter”. Many times their attitude will definitely let you know how they’re feeling. You can take a minute to try to understand how they’re feeling, it could change the dynamic of the relationship.

The ability to adapt- things change day to day, hour to hour or even minute to minute sometimes when caring for a senior. You have to be able to adapt to those changes. What worked yesterday may not work today.

Experience- Experence and skills help you develop a whole arsenal of different techniques to use when caring for seniors. As we age, our health declines. Many seniors find it difficult to accept these changes and therefore tend to struggle with not only the loss of some of their independence but also how to cope with some of health issues that come with aging. It is essential that the caregiver is able to handle the difficulties that this creates.

•What are some of the reasons people choose to stay at home instead of going into a facility?

Tyre: There a few things that with the right plan in place could make staying at home a better option than a facility. At home, the Senior still has some independence and control that they would lose in facility. With the nationwide staff shortages at long term care facilities, it can be hard to ensure that the senior will get adequate care but if they stay at home they are able make the necessary arrangements to ensure that all their needs are being met

•What area does your business service?

Tyre: Anne Arundel County and the surrounding areas

•It’s Women's History Month. Tell us a woman who inspires you.

Tyre: A woman who inspires me-my grandmother, Evelyn Lewis. Selfless, sacrificial, unconditional love. Agape’ love. The kind of love that she showered on our entire family. She was always one of my biggest supporters, pushing me to reach for my dreams. She taught me that anything is possible as long as you do the work. If there was ever a time that I doubted myself, she was right there with an encouraging word. She had a way of making you feel like you were the favorite whenever you were around her. Even though she is no longer with us, I still think “what would Nanny do?” or “what would Nanny say?” when making decisions.

•How can our readers connect with your business?

I can be reached by phone 410-494-9731 or any of my social media platforms.

IG: agape_lovesc

Facebook: Agape’ Love Senior Care

interview
1

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.