Families logo

Speaking Life Into Children

Positive affirmations with author Melody Goliday

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Author Melody Goliday

Affirmations! We say them to ourselves but do we say them to our children and teach them to say them also?

Affirmations are positive statements that can help you to challenge and overcome negative thoughts. They are statements that we repeat to ourselves. Most often they are used to manifest goals, dreams, or experiences we desire.

According to Geoffrey Cohen, a psychology professor at the Stanford University Graduate School of Education in California during an interview with US news & World report, it's best to think of self-affirmations in the literal sense of the word: "making the self firm." A child can accomplish this by becoming grounded in his or her most important values. Those values could be friends and family, creative outlets, religion or sports – whatever it is the child cares about, Cohen says.

We decided to have a sit down with author Melody Goliday to learn about her books as well as her views on affirmations.

Melody is a two time author that has always used writing to express herself. She hopes to inspire every little girl to always be the best version of themselves by providing confidence through each published book. Melody holds many titles, in which Mom is one. She is a girl-mom to a beautiful daughter and always instills the importance of self-love. Her goal is to also instill self-love and confidence in other little girls as they enjoy her books

What inspired you to become an author?

Melody: I honestly never had intentions on becoming an author. I never looked at writing as a talent. Although I’ve always had the gift. I used writing to express myself. When I was going through a phase in my life when I felt as though I needed to love myself a little more. I thought maybe I should write a children’s book. My daughter deserves to read about self love as a child.

Tell us about your first book “The Reason She Has Sparkles”

Melody: The Reason She Has Sparkles is a Children's Book uplifting every pretty little brown girl to have confidence in their selves and never let anything dim the sparkles on their crown. This book was created to provide affirmations, motivate and instill self love in every reader.

Tell us about your second book “Looking in the Mirror Doesn’t Have Anything on Me”

Melody: Looking in the Mirror doesn’t have Anything on me is a children's book created to remind each reader that beauty truly begins from deep within. This book reminds each reader that being pretty on the outside is a plus. Having manners, morals and being respectful is the real beauty.

How can your writing impact communities of color and encourage more children to read?

Melody: My writing can impact communities of color and encourage more children to read because I provide an uplifting narrative. My writing is very encouraging to children of color that are challenged daily. I provide motivation to keep going, even on a bad day you have sparkles that makes you special. My hopes are that when a child is going through something I will have a relatable book that allows them to remember who they are.

How important are positive affirmations for children?

Melody: I believe that positive affirmations are very important for children. It’s important to fill a child up with love and encouragement. Positive uplifting words can go so far even when you think it didn’t mean much. Children remember those who lived on them at times when they needed it the most.

Any upcoming events or news about your brand?

Melody: Yes, on October 24, 2021 from 3p-6pm I will be having a book signing/meet and greet at RYMKS Bar & Grille 819 E Pratt st. Baltimore, Md.

interview
2

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.