Families logo

Across The Mile : Personal Story

Saying Virtual Goodbye to Mom .

By Dark SecretsPublished about a month ago 3 min read
2

The rain hammered against the windowpane, a relentless rhythm that mirrored the frantic beat of my heart. My phone, clutched so tightly my knuckles were white, displayed the stark message: "Mom passed away peacefully this morning." Peaceful for her, maybe. But for me, it felt like the world had cracked open beneath my feet.

Three months. Just three short months I'd been in this foreign land, chasing a dream that suddenly felt like a cruel joke. Every call home had been laced with that same chilling fear, a fear I'd carried since childhood. Back then, I'd creep into her room at night, a tiny hand hovering over her chest, just to feel the rise and fall of her breath, a reassuring anchor in the darkness.

Now, the miles stretched between us like an uncrossable chasm. Visa restrictions, a bureaucratic nightmare in the face of my grief. I wouldn't be there to hold Dad's hand, wouldn't be there to bury the woman who'd held mine when the world felt overwhelming, who'd dried my tears and cheered my loudest at every victory.

The hours blurred into a miserable haze. My phone screen flickered with photos: her smile, bright as sunshine, holding a younger me, our arms wrapped tight. Regret gnawed at me. I'd planned to bring her here one day, show her this new world, a world I'd conquered for her.

Messages of condolence flooded in, a virtual wave of sympathy from friends and family. But their words felt distant, like whispers lost in the wind. All I craved was to be there, surrounded by the familiar sights and sounds of home, not trapped in this sterile hotel room, a stranger in a land that suddenly felt colder than ever.

But then, a memory surfaced, warm and bright. My mom, her eyes sparkling with mischief, telling me a story about a kite that soared high above the village, defying gravity. "Even when you can't see it, honey," she'd said, "the string is still there, connecting you to what you love."

I stared at the picture again, her smile urging me on. Distance couldn't sever this love. I set up a video call, gathering everyone close. Tears streamed down our faces, but there were smiles too, as we shared stories, laughter, and a lifetime of love for the incredible woman we'd all lost.

It wasn't perfect, this virtual wake. But it was a bridge, a string connecting me to home, to her. I couldn't be there physically, but my love could be. And as the call ended, a strange calm settled over me. Grief wouldn't break me. I would honor her by living the life she'd always wanted for me, a life filled with love, laughter, and the courage to chase dreams.

The rain continued to fall, but within me, a seed of hope had taken root. My mom was gone, but her love, like the unseen string of a kite, would forever connect us, across continents and beyond.

"The tears come not from sadness, but from the overflow of memories that my heart can't contain."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is There a Growing Divide Among Men and Women?

6 Ways to Deal with Challenging Religious and Spiritual Issues

How We Support Each Other in Healing - New!

The Mystery of Death: Why Does the Body Have a "Due Process" for Shutting Down?

What to Do When You Can't Rest When the Baby Rests - New!

Why Does a Challenging Childhood Affect Adult Mental Health? - New!

What to Do When You Can't Rest When the Baby Rests

parentsgrief
2

About the Creator

Dark Secrets

"Dark Secrets" covers various topics related to parenting, relationships, mysteries, child development, and teen issues. It aims to provide insights and advice on the challenges that parents and teens may face in their daily lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    This is a sweet story about something painful and your realization that memories still connect you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.