Families logo

A Parent’s Right To Say No

An expression of disgust

By Monica RosalesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Courtesy of google images

This pandemic has changed our lives so much sometimes we have to scream ourselves to the pillow just to be able to let the steam out. I had to look for another job to get those full hours because my job had us on shortened hours just to cope with the mechanics of this pandemic and trust me I understand. Everything immediately changed including the situation with our children and the fact that they could not be in school for their own good. And all has been so challenging since then.

Many parents had to juggle work and home and now our own children. And while this is so challenging for most of us, I for one has been so thankful that we are able to keep the kids at home to keep them safe during this pandemic. After all nothing is important than their lives, is it not? So, while our house is in chaos and having to assist them with school works and online classes, I still want to say that I am thankful. I will and I want to keep on repeating that as I make my point.

I was having my daily doze of news tonight while preparing our dinner, when I was suddenly disturbed on how our government is pushing on reopening of schools while all this pandemic is going on. Believe me I understand that it is important and everything is being done to adhere to guidelines blah blah blah...but is it just me or have they forgotten that this virus is deadly and that even though vaccine is being administered that it is not yet FDA approved? Yes. It is not yet FDA approved. It is authorized BUT not approved. Don’t you think that this reopening is not just a collective vote but a decision that every parent should make? That it is not just the decision of the government or a decision of majority, but it is the decision of each and every parent? I realize I am repeating myself but I want to understand why our beloved government does not understand that these are OUR kids out there...our kids that could potentially be exposed to a virus one may not be able to recover from?

While, everyone is going crazy with the situation at hand, I think it is important to know that all of us has different opinion on this very important matter. I am dealing with my sanity just to keep my kids safe and healthy under the blanket of our home and I think the people running our country should know and understand that. And I think this is not a case of majority vote. I think that every parent has the decision to make on their own for their and I hope that our country will come up with a better solution. After all these are our children’s lives and safety at stake. It maybe a challenge for them but this is the only way kids can be safe until they are definite that this vaccine is working especially kids are still not able to get one. Them staying safely at home is the only way we can be sure that the exposure will be minimized as oppose to sending them to school and not being able to control every kids not to take their masks off or to keep distance. Can you imagine the effort it has to be exerted by the school faculties just to ensure all these? I’m also guessing the school will not be responsible if something happened? I mean what happens if they get the virus? Will they take responsibility? And even if they do, will it matter if the kids get sick at school? Or ok, let me guess...will they get off the hook by saying one can never prove they got it in school if and when they do get sick?

NO! I think our kids should remain in the safety of our homes until all these blows over. This is our children we are talking about. My second born Marcus, your youngest Paul, or your eldest Vincent. NO! our Government officials should think of better way to improve the online schools or just get on the vaccine being accurate and endorsed and approved by the FDA. But until then, I will be one of those parents who will most definitely say NO to reopening of schools.

parents
3

About the Creator

Monica Rosales

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.