Families logo

A Mother Fesses Up

Two Old Friends Meet Up And Make A Connection Once Again

By Lily FinchPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like
A Mother Fesses Up
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

“Oh, excuse me. Sorry about that.” then he casually glanced to see whom he had walked into. A smile came to his face. The other man smiled too and asked,---

— “Ron, is that you?”

“Bobby, it’s me.”

“Well, how the hell are you, man? Got time for a coffee? Or two?

“Yeah, that sounds great! I’d love to.”

The two men have a seat and order coffee. The waitress brings them a thermal urn full of coffee with a smile and says,---

— “If you boys need more, just let me know, I answer Lulu.”

Then she winked and was off to another table.

Ron led, “You know, Bobby I always wondered what happened to you after your parents moved you away. I asked my mom if she knew how to get a hold of your parents, and she said that your parents split up and you went to live with your dad.

Is that true?”

“You know I spent much time thinking about you too, Ron. We moved so fast, and my dad chose to move out of state. That meant I only saw my mother on holidays and school breaks. I would be back in State all summer, but my mom wouldn’t let me call you. I don’t know why?”

“What? Your mom and my mom were thick thieves, and so were our dads. So what gives? I always thought my parents would get divorced, but after you moved away, my parents were happier.

“Does that sound weird? I never thought your parents would divorce. I always thought mine would. Especially 'cause I saw the way your dad looked at my mom.”

“Yeah, that was something. I remember that too.”

“Oh, remember when we built our tree house and went there every day after school? We thought we were the coolest kids around.”

“Yeah, I remember how our dads climbed up there and tried to get through the entrance and could barely squeeze through, but they both did it. Amazing fun, wasn't it? Having our dads up there for that sleep out.”

“Oh yeah, that was the best. Who knew your dad knew so much about the stars? Right?”

“I was shocked that your daddy could play the harmonica so well. I always wanted to be like your dad. You know that?”

Ron asked, but then he looked down at the table. He couldn’t make eye contact all of a sudden.

“Listen, I was thinking about that bike we built. I didn’t get any pictures of that thing, and I wanted to show my boys. They cannot believe their old man could do such a thing at twelve, no less!”

“I probably have them at home. When she downsized, my mom gave me all her albums, so I bet it’s in there.”

“Cool. It would be great if you could snap a picture and send it to 322-8884. I’m back in the state.”

“Why would you do that?” My dad has Leukemia, and they are asking for bone marrow donors, so I was tested although I’m not a match, I wanted to be closer to him. If we don’t get a donor soon, he could die.”

They ran out of coffee and asked Lulu for another full earn. This time they ordered a sandwich and a donut. She asked,---

—”Do you want some coleslaw on the side? It’s a yummy vinegar slaw. Damn delicious!”

Both men liked the sound of that and nodded approvingly.

While they waited for their sandwiches, they discovered they had a lot to talk about that was left unanswered. Both men made a quick phone call and cleared their afternoons.

“Oh, wow! Leukemia eh? What does that mean you’ve been tested?”

“When someone needs a bone marrow transplant, they take marrow from a person first to see if they are a match. Often, the person will perish if we cannot find a match. That’s why it is important to test all family members first. I had all my boys tested and my wife. Not one of us! Can you believe it? Jesus H.!”

“Geez, it sounds so terrible. I’m sorry, man. To be so helpless must be awful.”

“Yeah, pretty much sidelined our life for a bit.”

“I guess. It sounds like a bad dream! Honestly.”

Well, we keep hoping against hope that someone will show up and save his life. Just pray for a donor, as prayers can’t hurt, right? Whether you are a believer or not.”

“You bet, man. You got it!”

The conversation was over, and their bellies were full. The men stood to leave, and Bobby spoke,

“You know, I almost didn’t come in today, but for some reason, I felt like a cup of coffee, something I don’t drink much of at all. Now that you have my number feel free to use it. I’ll be expecting your call.”

“Ok. Thanks. It was great to see you, Bobby. I wish your dad all the prayers in the world. I hope he finds a donor soon. Ok, we’ll be talking to you soon.”

Both men smiled and got into their trucks. While driving, Bobby thought about a few things from his conversation with Ron. Shoot, I forgot to ask Ron if he had been tested. He wouldn’t have been asking all those questions if he had. I wish I had gotten his number instead of giving him mine. Damn, a missed opportunity.

Ron drove away thinking he would call Bobby the day after next and see if he wanted to shoot a game of pool to take his mind off things. When he got home, he shared what went on in his day with his wife and his kids.

It was his day to visit his mother, so he showered and got ready to go. They always had a “date night” so that his mother could dress up in her fancy clothes and parade around her living facility with Ron, who was dressed in a tuxedo. All residents on her floor would come out and watch and wave as they walked by. Ron knew them all by name. But tonight, Ron had a different plan in mind. He was going to take his mother on a trip down memory lane.

As he walked into her room, she dressed in a beautiful Yves St. Laurent gown that was backless. Despite her age, she didn’t look a day over 65. Ron greeted her.

“Hi, beautiful. Don’t you look exquisite?”

“Oh, thank you, darling. How’s my favourite son and only child today? How was your week?”

“Funny you should ask because I ran into Bobby McGill in a coffee shop earlier today.”

“Oh, now there’s a name I haven’t heard in a long while. What’d he have to say? Anything good?”

“Yeah, he said that his dad has Leukemia, and they tested everyone in their family, and they haven’t found a donor. I’m sad because he feels Brad will die soon without a donor.”

“Oh, dear. You should test to see if you are a viable donor.”

“Why?”

“A long time ago. Your dad and I were testy with one another, and we were distant for a time — in the bedroom.--- I was a stay-at-home mom and doted on you, which was my life. When a man showed me some attention, I foolishly sought comfort in his arms: Brad McGill. Brad was working on his own from home then. Neither of us meant for it to happen, but it just did. And then we questioned whether you were his or who we thought was your father. It turned out that you were Brad’s son. He asked me to provide him with something of yours with your DNA on it, so I gave him your favourite cup. That’s when we realized that you and Bobby were half brothers. We never admitted to anything, but your dad suspected something. Years later, the man you called dad made a pass at Wendy. Your real dad and I caught them together, which was Brad's last straw. He wanted a divorce, and he was vying for custody of Bobby. Wendy couldn’t fight him because she didn’t earn near Brad's salary. Bobby went to live with his dad. Wendy never told us where she went, and neither did Brad. They just said goodbye and left quite abruptly. So that’s why I’m telling you that you should go and be tested. It could mean his life or death.”

Ron caught unawares, was speechless. He got up and moved to the doorway. His mother tried to talk more, but he raised his hand and retreated.

On the way to the car, he kicked over a trash can and cried: “WHY! Everything is changing.”

He stomped around the parking lot and got into the driver’s side of his truck. He drove home as the tears streamed down his face. He entered his house, and his wife greeted him.

“I have to call Bobby, honey. I’ll be fine. Just let me do this, please.”

He dialled the number to Bobby’s cell. It went to voicemail. He left a message.

“Hey bro, I was hoping to get tested ASAP. Can we meet, and I’ll ride with you?”

He barely got the phone hung up, and it rang back for him; it was Bobby.

“Yeah, I’m going tomorrow at 7:15 a.m. I’ll call my nurse and let him know I have a possible donor, and they will test you tomorrow. Hey, thanks a lot on behalf of my dad. You’ll even see him, and he’ll thank you himself.”

On the way to the hospital, Ron kept things light. Bobby was all a flutter with hopes that Ron was a match.

They took Ron in immediately to prepare him for the procedure. Bobby went to find his dad and tell him the good news. His dad broke down in tears. He asked if he could see Ron.

“Sure, dad, he wants to see you too. Let’s hope he’s a match!”

After the testing, Ron and Bobby made their way to Brad’s room. Brad was just sitting up for something to eat. Ron’s eyes met Brad’s, and the tears started. Bobby was taken aback. He asked.

“What is going on here?”

“It’s a long story, and we’ve got a long car ride ahead. Can you wait until then?”

“Sure.”

****

On the drive back, Bobby learned all about the scandalous actions of his father and then his mother with Ron’s parents. They both were stunned, but then they began laughing.

“It could be worse, I guess. We are half-brothers at best. At worst, we’re just friends like always.”

Bobby said.

They parted, stating they would talk tomorrow.

Ron got home; his wife said the hospital called. He was a match! The hospital wanted the bone marrow transplant within the next twenty-four hours.

Ron scheduled a time. Then he called Bobby with tears in his eyes and said.---

---“I found a match for dad; it’s me. I scheduled my transplant for tonight at 3:00 a.m..”

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.