Families logo

A LITTLE PRINCESS IN A GOLDEN CAGE

A VOICE OF A GIRL TO HER PARENTS

By Salini Kathir Published about a year ago 10 min read
Like

With a heavy heart, I pen these words

For the feeling within me, that stirs and burns

I know that I have been blessed, in so many ways

But sometimes, I feel like I'm trapped in a golden cage.

My dear parents, my shining stars,

In this golden cage, I'm trapped behind bars.

I live in luxury, comfort, and ease,

But my heart yearns for a life that's free.

I know that you have always had my best interests at heart

And you have worked so hard to give me a head start

But sometimes, I want to spread my wings and fly

To see the world, and live my life, on my own terms, and try.

My dearest parents, I hope this letter makes you to know me well,

I know we've talked about my independence, but there's more to tell.

I want to explore the world, see new sights and sounds,

But I don't want to go to your relative's function, just to be around.

I long to travel to distant lands, to learn and explore

To meet new people, and to see what life has in store

But every time I speak of my dreams and aspirations

I feel as though you place me in a box, of limitations.

You tell me that I should wait, that I should stay close to home

That my place is here, with you, and that I should never roam

But I cannot help the way I feel, the yearning deep inside

To break free from these golden chains, and to spread my wings wide.

I want to choose my own path, to make my own way in life

To find the man who will be my husband, and to be his wife

But every time I meet someone, you tell me it's not right

That I should wait, and that I should be patient, and bide my time.

I know you only want the best for me,

But please let me spread my wings and be

An independent woman, strong and brave,

Who can navigate life's unpredictable wave.

I want to find a job, make my own money,

And marry a man I find sweet as honey.

I want to build a life that's truly mine,

To take risks, fall, and learn to shine.

I know you're worried about my safety and care,

But please trust me, I'll always be aware.

I'm not a little girl, I'm all grown up,

I'm ready to face challenges and push my luck.

Please don't see my request as a threat,

I promise you, I won't forget

The values and morals you've taught me so well,

They'll be with me always, no need to dwell.

I want to make my own choices, choose my own path,

And not always have to ask for permission, it feels like a trap.

I want to choose my own clothing, and style my hair,

Without worrying about the judgment, and the stares.

I want to be a boss lady, and earn my own way,

And not always be in the shadow of your wealth, night and day.

I want to feel the pride that comes from achieving on my own,

And not always be dependent, or feel like I'm alone.

My dear parents, I hope you understand,

That sometimes your choices are not what I have planned.

I'm afraid of your decisions, because I no longer agree,

With what the society dictates, or what others see.

I don't want to be scolded for the judgment of our relatives,

Or feel forced to go somewhere, because of your perspectives.

I want to live for myself, and make my own choices,

Without the fear of disapproval, or raised voices.

I don't want to go to a function, just to search for a groom,

I want to find love on my own, not be forced to assume.

I don't want to be bound by what others think,

Or live in a cage, with no chance to spread my wings.

Please understand, that I want to be me,

Not who society thinks I should be.

I want to chase my dreams, and find my own way,

Without being pushed down, or forced to sway.

I don't want to live in a place I don't like,

Where every step I take is just a hike.

I want to be in a place where I am happy,

Where every moment is not just snappy.

I don't want to be a princess in your home,

But a queen in my own palace, free to roam.

I want to build my own empire,

And not just play a role that you desire.

I want you to understand what real independence is,

Not just to say it and then act like it's a myth.

You always tell me that I am free,

But in reality, I struggle to be.

Every decision I make for myself,

Feels like a fight, not just a choice that fell.

I don't want to have to fight for what I want,

I just want to make a decision and be nonchalant.

I know that you love me and want the best,

But please understand that I need to rest.

To find my own path and my own way,

To live a life that is not just a replay.

Sometimes I feel like running away,

To find my independence, come what may.

But I don't want to hurt you or make you feel bad,

So I stay and accept the life that I've had.

I accept your decisions even if I don't agree,

Just to make you happy, not to make a scene.

I accept everything for your sake,

But not for myself, for my own stake.

I want you to listen to me,

And not just to the relatives who speak ill of me.

I am your daughter, and I want to live my own life,

Free from judgment, free from strife.

Sometimes I feel like dying,

Just to find some independence in the heaven.

But I don't want you to feel wrong,

Or like I have been here all along.

I want to make my own choices,

And find my own voice.

I am afraid to take decisions on my own,

Because every time I do, you say I am wrong.

But I know deep down inside,

That not every decision I make is wrong, or should be denied.

I want to find my own way,

And make decisions for myself every day.

I don't want a forceful marriage,

With the groom you find, it's not my right age.

I know you want to keep our family's honor,

But I want to find my own love, my own ardor.

I accept everything you do,

Because I know you are doing it for the family's view.

But I want to be independent like the women in Bharathiyar's poetry,

Free from judgment, free from society's cruelty.

I know India got its freedom,

But women in typical Indian families, still feel like a kingdom.

I want to break free from these chains,

And live a life that is meant for me, with all its gains.

I know you both love me a lot,

And I appreciate everything you have brought,

But sometimes, I feel like I am in a cage,

And I want to break free and turn a new page.

I don't just want to make the household chores,

And getting ready for my marriage and in-laws,

I want to make you both proud of me,

With my job and the money I earn, you'll see.

I know you give me everything I need,

But at times, I feel guilty indeed,

That I am still dependent on you,

Even when I am twenty-two.

I hesitate to ask for something I want,

Because I know it is not my money to flaunt,

But I want to feel independent and free,

To make choices that are best for me.

I want to make you both proud,

With the achievements I make, I vow,

I want to be the best version of myself,

And be happy and content with oneself.

I hope you can understand my perspective,

And not judge me for being selective,

I just want to live my life to the fullest,

And not just be the girl who is dutiful.

I know you both have my best interests at heart,

But sometimes, we have to break free and start,

To make our own decisions and stand tall,

To rise above it all.

I want to be like the girl in the poem,

By Bharathiyar that talks about women,

Who are strong and independent, you see,

That's what I aspire to be.

I don't want to just get a good name,

In my in-laws' house and play the game,

I want to make my own mark in the world,

And be remembered for my own accord.

I know you work hard to keep me secure,

And I appreciate it, I really do, for sure.

But I want to make my own money,

And be proud of myself, isn't that funny?

I don't want to depend on you,

And have you tell me what to do.

I want to find my own way,

And make my own choices every day.

You've given me love, care, and all I need,

And for that, I'll always concede.

You've taught me to be independent,

But sometimes it feels like it's insufficient.

You've earned enough to secure my future,

But I want to earn my own money, not be a moocher.

I want to stand on my own two feet,

And make my own decisions without deceit.

I know you want me to find a groom,

And go to family functions dressed like a bloom.

But that's not what I want for me,

I want to live life independently.

You taught me what it means to be free,

But sometimes it feels like you don't let me be.

I want to find my own path in life,

And not just be a wife.

I don't want to be just a household queen,

Or search for a groom like it's a routine.

I want to make my own way,

And be successful in my own right every day.

I know I'm introverted and it might seem rude,

But going everywhere with you is just not my mood.

I want to be in a place where I'm comfortable and free,

And I hope you can see that it's just me.

Please don't take this letter the wrong way,

I love you both and that's why I say.

I hope you understand my need for independence,

And that it's not just teenage preference.

I hope this letter doesn't hurt you both,

As I am not trying to make an oath,

I just want to share what's on my mind,

And hope that we can all be kind.

Thank you for always being there for me,

And supporting me in everything I seek,

I just want to make you both proud,

In the choices I make, and never to bow down.

I hope you can understand my plight,

And not just dismiss it, with all your might.

I am your daughter, but I am also my own person,

And I hope you can see that, and come to a common version.

I hope you'll support me, and trust in my choices,

As I navigate the world, and find my own voices.

With love and respect, your daughter who wants to be free,

To live her life, chase her dreams, and be who she's meant to be.

Please don't misunderstand, I appreciate all you do,

But I need to find my own way, and make my own breakthroughs.

I promise to keep the values and morals that you've instilled,

And with my independence, my success will be filled.

Thank you for hearing me out, and for understanding,

I promise to keep in touch, and keep you in my heart, expanding.

With love and gratitude, your daughter who wants to be free,

To live her life, chase her dreams, and be who she's meant to be.

So please, my dearest parents, hear me out,

Let me take charge of my life, without a doubt.

I promise to make you proud and happy,

To be the best version of myself, oh so snappy.

With all my love and gratitude,

Your little princess.

siblingspregnancyparentsmovie reviewmarriedhow tofact or fictionextended familychildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

Salini Kathir

Emerging Fashion blogger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.