Families logo

A Letter to My Future Husband

I love you.

By Arlee Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photography by: Ashlan Skidmore

Dear Future Husband,

Throughout the years I have prayed, asking God to send me a man who always puts you first. I never understood the importance of my own prayer until recently I realized the importance of having a man who is willing to do so. It’s so crazy to think you were created for me, just walking around on this earth somewhere. I just hope you continue to follow his word so it may lead you back to me.

"Woman came out of a man's rib. Not from his feet to be walked on. Not from his head to be superior, but from his side to stand with man. Under the arm to be protected, and next to the heart to be loved."

I will never expect you to be perfect, because the Lord knows I’m not. You will make mistakes, so will I. I know that we will learn from past mistakes, which will make us stronger through the years. I vow to love your every flaw and weakness.

For you, I promise to always be by your side throughout every trial, bad day, and hardship that may come our way. I promise to always see the good in you, reminding you who you are in case you ever start to lose sight of that. I promise to love you above any disagreements we may have and never hold it against you. I promise to always pray for us and our family. I promise to always care about your every concern, need, and taking everything you say into consideration.

I will never pretend I am perfect. I will probably get on your nerves, eat off your plate, steal your yummy leftovers in the fridge, make you switch plates when I order something gross, and I may just wake you up at awful hours in the night when I can’t sleep. I can almost guarantee I will have bad days, moody moments, and sometimes I’ll be downright hard to handle but I know having a marriage surrounded by God's love, all the good days and moments will outweigh the bad.

I look forward to making you breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day, doing your laundry, cleaning our home and always making sure you can find your wallet, keys and probably a list of many things I’ll hear you yell from the other room asking “Do you know where ____ is” I look forward to the laughter and joy our relationship will bring but most importantly the look on your face when I defeat you in every prank war. I look forward to always surprising you when you least expect it, and rubbing your back and feet after a long day. I look forward to being your biggest support for anything your heart has set out for you to do.

And I want to just say thank you in advance for all the spiders you will kill for me. Thank you for representing true love to me. Thank you for never holding a bad day of mine against me and loving me through it. Thank you for pushing me to always be better than I was yesterday. Thank you for your understanding, kind, and gentle heart. Thank you for seeing me for who I am. Thank you for loving every flaw and ugly part of me.

My hopes for us is that our love will grow stronger as time goes on, that we will never stop having slow dances in the kitchen, always continue to laugh, and to never stop holding each other. I hope that we are those old people in rocking chairs while our crazy grandkids run around laughing, singing, and full of joy because being in our home and around our love becomes so contagious and overwhelming. And above all I hope we never stop putting God first. I love you and will always love you.

Sincerely,

Your Future Wife

married
Like

About the Creator

Arlee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Arlee is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.