Families logo

A Letter to mom

What it takes to be a sister

By Blake LockhartPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Letter to mom
Photo by lucas mendes on Unsplash

I was up early, making sure that I saw you before you went to work,before I went to school. I loved being with you in the morning time . It was so quiet and peaceful. Just us. I remebered you always had something pretty on,wether it was a dress and tennis shoes or jeans and a new flowy shirt. (As i'm writing this I'm actually realizing how much I get my fashion from you.) I also remember the smell of your perfume and how you'd sometimes spray just a tiny bit on my wrist, so that I could smell good like you. I even remeber the time, you didnt wake me up because you wanted me to get some extra sleep and when I woke up and realized that you had already left, I went nuts. I was crying, couldnt find my clothes, giving my big brother a hard time so we ended up missing the bus. My dad had to take us to school and I remember him being so confused as to why I was so upset. Running through my head was thoughts of never seeing my mom again. What if you got in a car wreck? What if you wouldnt be able to come home after work? Once I did see you after school I was so happy and you promised me you would never do it again, and you didnt. But, this particular morning was different. As you got the rest of your things like your lunch bag, your purse, and paper work together and began to finish the rest of your coffee you asked me out of the Blue, "What would you do if your little sister got hurt really bad, or if you weren't able to see her again?" My little eleven year old mild was caught off guard a bit. I wasn't sure, I hadn't thought about it before. I felt really sad. She observed me and asked once more, "What would you do?" I folded my arms and looked down mumbling the words, "I dont know." My little sister was so annoying to me, she always followed and always wanted to play with me. Whenever our cousins would come over, I would make sure that she had enough toys to herself, so that she wouldn't play with us and annoy us. I felt like she always got what she wanted,whenever she wanted, however she wanted it; it wasnt fair. She always got me in trouble when she would pass a lick and when I returned the favor, would cry to our parents, and I would get in trouble. I looked back up at you to read your expression.You leaned on the counter and said, "How would it make you feel?" "Sad." I replied "Blake, you only get one sister and she loves you very much, but you are so mean to her. You dont let her play with you and you always say "no" when she wants you to play with her. You are a big sister and you are not being a good one." My eyes watered a bit. I hadn't realized that she loved me, and wanted to play with me,or even cared about me. I only saw her as a annoying little sister. I looked back down at the White kitchen floor. You looked at me and said, " Think about what I just said Blake, long and hard." You hugged me as usual and told me to have a good day at school. I got ready and would take a look at my little sister as she got ready and felt so guilty. From that day on I made it my business to be a better big sister. I played with her more, to the point that I would ask her to play with her, shed get so excited. We ended making dance recitals ,plays, and movies on your ipad with our dolls. Momma that day you didnt just help me become a better big sister. But a better daughter, little sister, neice, cousin, woman, and person. You made me think twice before I speak and to be kind. To smile at strangers and to say hello to the "odd one out." To work hard, but never forget to stop and smell the roses, to always put a little perfume on and a cute outfit. Thank you, Momma.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.