Fiction logo

Different Paths

You can not see theirs, and they can not see yours

By Blake LockhartPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Different Paths
Photo by Anisur Rahman on Unsplash

"Straighten up. " he said with a straight face. I had panicked and forgotten why we were here. "It's fake, it's not real, it's fake,it's not real," I kept repeating to myself. My brother looked at me again and then back at the field, "We're going to have to get across before they let the dogs loose, because if we don't now, thats an automic elimination, and them dogs are way too fast." I nodded my head in agreement. I was going to follow him because I didnt have a clue of what I was doing. I already knew I was going to fail this exam,but I didnt care, my main concern was getting the heck out of this scenerio. "Okay, on my count Roy," he stated as he leveled himself up, I did the same. "One, two,three-" he was interrupted by a loud alarm. We both had to cover our ears it was so loud. I felt my teeth vibrate, as it continued, "EEEERRRRRREEEEERRRR!" "WHAT THE HECK?!" I saw my brother mouth the words as he looked up into the sky. The sky went from a light baby Blue with White clouds to a dim Gray, then to Black, then to what looked like a unfinished ceiling. "PLAYERS STAY IN YOUR LOCATION!" a loud announcement came over. I looked at my brother confused, "what happened?" I asked while observing the scenerio disentegrate to a large, empty room. The floor was a bland White tile and the walls were White as well. "I don't know," he answered while he looked around too. "THERE HAS BEEN AN AUTOMATIC ELIMINATION DUE TO SMUGGLING OF OUTSIDE MATTER!" I looked back at my brother with a look that said, "What does that mean?" "Someone mustve brought in weapons that werent in the scenerio already." "Why?" "I don't know bro, but what I do know is that's one less pair were going against. " There was a bunch of noise that sounded like machinery moving. "REMAINING PLAYERS STAY IN PLACE UNTIL YOU ARE RELEIVED BY A TGA OFFICER!" "Dang it!" My brother yelled as he slammed his weapon down,"We were almost there!" I wasn't going to show it, but I was jumping for joy in my head. I wanted to get out of there so bad. "Aww man." I weakly chimed in. After a few moments a short man with an all Black uniform, with the words "TGA Officer" pasted on the front, made his way towards us. "Hello Gentleman, I do apologize for the delay in the game, but you will need to place these grams on your left shoulder and follow the given path to exit." The man held out his hand, in it were two devices,that simply looked like to Black buttons. I looked at my brother and he rolled up his shirt and stuck the button to his shoulder, I did the same. It stuck easily to my skin and I felt it vibrate. In front of me appeared a Blue line. "Cool," I said under my breath. My brother looked back, "is yours working?" He asked. "Yeah, yours?" I replied "Yeah,why cant I see your line?" he asked. The man interrupted, "Only the path meant for that person is seen by that person, you can not see his path and he cannot see yours." I nodded my head taking in the new information then asked, " Are they going to the same place though?" "Yes...this time." The man replied. "What do you-" the man interrupted my brother in mid sentence, "follow the given path to the exit please, time is being wasted and the game must be finished." We nodded our heads and said thanks as we began to follow our paths forward.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.