Families logo

A Heartfelt Letter To My Mother

A letter of love and admiration!

By Robert KegelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Me on the left, my aunt, mother and grandmother. I don't remember how old the child is.

Hey Mom!  I thought I’d write you this letter telling you how much I miss you.  It’s been 11 years since you passed away and I think about you a lot.  I miss the trips we took to visit our family in New Jersey, I miss your cooking, the whole house filled with the smell of whatever you were making that night.  I miss our trips to Vegas, I was to young to gamble but because you and Dad knew people, I always got free games at Circus Circus, I miss decorating the Christmas tree with you and then we’d sit by the fire with marshmallows and roast them. 

We had our hard times to where we butted heads, but we always got through them.  You’d have to fight me to clean my room or push me to do better in classes that I really wasn’t interested in, but you did and I came out better for it.  As I got older, I started partying with friends and when you found out you flipped, especially when I threw up in your car when you picked me up from a graduation party.  We even butted heads when I didn’t like Dave the guy you dated after Dad.  He wasn’t good for you and I saw that and I was glad you were open enough to let me talk to you about it and see for yourself.

I learned so much from you as well.  You taught me to be kind yet not get stepped on, you also taught me common courtesy goes a long way.  I also learned to treat people with respect especially women.  The family going on camping trips taught me to love nature and care for our planet.  Without you I may not have turned out to be the man I am today.  No matter through good times or bad we had each other's backs. 

This is a hard letter to write because we missed so many years together.  You were my mother, friend and a person I could come to for good, sound advice, and you knew I was there for you as well.  We weren’t afraid to tell each other like it is, and even though sometimes we argued over it, we knew when the dust settled, we’d be stronger and move advised.  I’ve found friends that I have a similar relationship with, but it’s not the same.

My friends who I’ve know most of my life talk about you with love still.  They miss you as well because you always treated them with kindness and respect.  They always wanted to hang out at our house because you’d fed them and were a friend to them.  I loved the BBQ’s we’d have with all my friends and their families; everyone would bring something Dad and I would work the BBQ together and you’d make side dishes and desserts. 

You never judged who I dated either, you told me I had good judgment, but if a woman ever hurt me, you’d be there for me.  I always knew when you liked them because you treated them like family.  You were always accommodating to the people you liked and everyone loved you for that. 

When you passed away family, friends, everyone that knew you grieved. I’m sad to say your brothers have passed away.  Our family is getting smaller and my heart breaks every time I think about it.  People who looked in the window of our family saw the love, happiness and yes at times sadness we had, but one thing they could never say is we didn’t have love.

So, mom, as I end this letter, I think you for everything you did for me, and everything you taught me.  Without you I wouldn’t be the man I am today and I’m grateful for that! 

Love Always,

Your Son Robert

P.S. I tried to find a better family photo of us, but they’re lost in a box somewhere in storage. This is the best I can find. Sorry.

grief
1

About the Creator

Robert Kegel

I'm a rocker, a gamer, a romantic, a Dom, a hiker and l like camping. I'm a geek, who loves Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and technology. I'll try and write about a variety of topics ranging from relationship, tech and every day rants.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.