Families logo

A Funny Time In My Family

A Funny Time in My Family

By Hafiz ShahbazPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Family Fun

It was a bright and sunny day, and my family was gathered together in our backyard. The smell of barbecue filled the air, and laughter echoed across the yard. My mom, dad, sister, and I were all there, along with a few aunts, uncles, and cousins.

As we sat down to eat, my dad decided to tell a joke. He had a habit of doing this at family gatherings, and we all loved it. This time, he told us a story about a man who went to a zoo and saw a gorilla reading a book. The man was amazed and asked the zookeeper how the gorilla learned to read. The zookeeper replied, "He started with the ABCs, just like everyone else."

We all burst out laughing, and my dad beamed with pride. But then, my mom decided to tell a joke of her own. She told us a story about a man who went to a doctor with a lettuce leaf sticking out of his ear. The doctor asked, "How did that happen?" The man replied, "I was trying to make a salad, but I couldn't hear the instructions."

Again, we all laughed, but this time my dad looked a little annoyed. He had been upstaged by my mom, and he wasn't happy about it. So, he decided to retaliate by telling us another joke. This one was about a man who walked into a bar with a parrot on his shoulder. The bartender asked, "Why do you have a parrot?" The man replied, "He's my wingman."

My dad's joke was met with mixed reactions. Some of us thought it was funny, while others thought it was a little corny. But then, my sister chimed in with a joke of her own. She told us a story about a man who went to a party and saw a woman he liked. He walked up to her and said, "Excuse me, but I think you dropped something." She asked, "What did I drop?" He replied, "My jaw."

By this point, we were all laughing so hard that tears were streaming down our faces. My dad had been upstaged by both my mom and my sister, but he didn't seem to mind anymore. We were all having such a good time that we didn't want it to end.

After dinner, we decided to play a game of charades. My mom went first, and she acted in the movie "Titanic." We all guessed it right away, and my mom beamed with pride. Then, my dad took his turn. He sang "I Will Always Love You" by Whitney Houston. It was hilarious to watch him try to sing without making any noise, and we all guessed the song right away.

Next, it was my sister's turn. She acted out the book "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone." We all guessed it right away, but my sister was disappointed. She had wanted to stump us, but we were too good.

Finally, it was my turn. I acted out the phrase "Happy Birthday." My family guessed it right away, but then my dad said, "Wait a minute. It's not anyone's birthday today." I replied, "I know. I just wanted to see if you guys were paying attention."

We all laughed and hugged each other, grateful for the funny time we had shared together. It was moments like these that made me realize how lucky I was to have such a wonderful family. We might not always agree on everything, but we could always come together and laugh.

As the sun began to set and the stars came out, we all sat around the fire pit and roasted marshmallows. We talked about old times and made plans for the future. But mostly, we just enjoyed each other's company, knowing that we had created a memory that would last a lifetime.

As I went to bed that night, I felt a warm glow in my heart. I knew that I was part of a family that loved to laugh and have fun. And I knew that no matter what happened in the future, we would always have each other.

valuessiblingsparentsmarriedimmediate familygrandparentsextended familychildrenadvice
1

About the Creator

Hafiz Shahbaz

Are you ready to embark on a journey of intriguing and captivating stories? Look no further, because my name is Hafiz Shahbaz and I'll take you on a ride you won't forget!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.