Families logo

A Definition of a Role Model: Jacqueline Dickens

A Gem of Inspiration And Love

By Michael NowotnyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A comical view of an amazing individual, Jacqueline Dickens.

What makes a role model, an individual whose amazing spirit brings joy to those around them, and bring thats same spirit to their work with the best intentions for those around them. For me, that individual is Jacqueline Dickens, who is a founding figure of A New Leaf, a homeless residence located in Mesa, Arizona.

When I moved to Arizona, it wasnt long before i joined the team at A New Leaf and got to know the woman that everyone would know as Miss Jackie. I have worked with my fair share of bosses and managers in my life, but i can honestly say i have never worked for someone that has that motherly nature where Miss Jackie would support her staff at all times while bringing her old fashioned values to the facility bettering the lives of the shelter's residents.

During my five year tenure with A New Leaf, I saw my fair share of hardship and struggle with both the residents and the staff I worked with. But one individual stayed strong regardless and that was Miss Jackie, who believed in a positive outcome no matter the negative situation. For all the former residents who stayed at the shelter, the one topic that is always discussed is Miss Jackie and how much she meant to their lives.

A woman, who worked to provide gifts, meals and entertainment for her residents to bring that aspect of home for those who are in the search of a new outlook on life. I witnessed the impact of this's individuals giving and I can see the emotion the residents had, it was heartwarming, i wish i had as big an impact for those residents as she has had.

Miss Jackie, is a loving mother and wife and it was moving to always hear her touching stories about her family, while we worked together. As someone who believes in family, its another of many aspects that make me respect who i have labeled, my "second mother." A title, "mother" that was not easy for me to announce based on the passing of my mother prior to my move to Arizona.

But that is the impact that this woman has made in my life, she recently celebrated her 70th birthday while continuing to work for A New Leaf. And with the "current world events" that also impacted the shelter, Miss Jackie stayed strong and worked to provide all the safety requirements necessary to ensure safety for the residents and the shelter staff.

Miss Jackie and I respected one another, and she saw something in me, similar to my former editor for the Mountain Home News, and that was a hard working individual who worked to bring his best to his profession. I look at Miss Jackie, similar to my editor, a figurehead or pupil that took me under their wing and guided to become a better worker as well as a better human being.

In fact, as a former serviceman with the United States Air Force, the core values i lived by, Jacqueline Dickens is the epitome of those values. First, Service Before Self, no one i have ever seen represented this value more than Miss Jackie. A woman who worked countless hours due to minimal staffing and stayed the course to fulfill the mission of the shelter.

Second, Excellence In All We Do, while although working for a facility with internal matters, Jacqueline Dickens always worked to the best of her ability despite the long hours, or the rough nights because of staff or resident matters.

Finally, Integrity First, to me the most significant value, there was a perfect example of the word, "integrity", than the New Leaf patriarch.

I hope that one day, i can provide the same inspiration to those around me, that Jacqueline Dickens has brought to me.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.