Families logo

A 5-Year-Old’s Crisis of Identity

Exploring the Existential Question

By Anthony ChanPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
1
Special Thanks to Leonardo Yip on Unsplash.com

As I reflect on my childhood, one memory stands out vividly. At the age of five, I experienced a crisis of identity that remains etched in my memory despite the passage of more than six decades.

The catalyst for this profound introspection was an experience that introduced me to the concept of mortality—a visit to a funeral home with my mother to pay respects to a departed friend. Little did I realize that this encounter with death would ignite a series of questions in my young mind, questions that would shape the way I perceived my existence.

The funeral home was laden with somberness, a realm where many confronted the inevitable fate of every mortal being. As I stood beside my mother, holding her hand, I gazed at the still figure within the casket, a friend of my mothers who had departed from this world. The hushed whispers, the subdued atmosphere, and the aroma of lilies hung heavy in the air, creating an indelible imprint on my young consciousness.

Unanswered Questions

After this poignant experience, a mystery began to surface in my mind like ripples on a serene pond disturbed by a stone's throw. Why are we here? What is the purpose of life? Why do we eventually leave this world through the enigmatic doorway of death? Though abstract and profound, these questions weighed heavily on the shoulders of a five-year-old still learning to tie shoelaces and distinguish between colors.

Lying in bed that night, staring into the darkness, I felt confused. The room echoed with silence as I pondered the very essence of my being. I began to grapple with the concept of identity—who I was, why I existed, and what awaited me at the end of this mysterious journey called life.

Attempting to articulate my thoughts, I questioned the universe in whispers, hoping for an answer that would unravel the enigma of existence. Why was I placed on this earth, and could I explain the purpose of my existence? The more I pondered these perplexing questions, the more elusive the answers seemed. The weight of the unknown bore down on me, and a sense of helplessness hijacked my young mind.

The existential problem I faced manifested itself in a throbbing headache, a physical manifestation of the mental turmoil that consumed me. As I pressed my tiny hands against my temples, I grappled with the limitations of my young mind. The vastness of the universe and the brevity of life overwhelmed my thoughts. Asking my mom these same questions elicited an unsatisfactory response. She said I shouldn’t think about these things because there were no suitable responses to my questions. This led me to conclude that I had to figure out this mystery myself!

As I have gotten older, I have come to accept the transient nature of life, acknowledging that our time on this earth is finite. However, the journey to this acceptance was gradual, marked by years of introspection. Unfortunately, these profound questions remained unanswered throughout my childhood and haunted me. Luckily, as I went through adolescence and young adulthood, these feelings morphed into a philosophical framework that helped shape my perspective on life.

Looking back, I recognize that my crisis of identity at the age of five was a pivotal moment in my intellectual and emotional development. It ignited a curiosity about life's mysteries, pushing me to explore philosophy, science, and spirituality in search of answers. The seeds planted in that darkened room during a sleepless night would grow into a lifelong quest for meaning and purpose.

As the years unfolded, I accepted that the human experience is a mosaic filled with scenes of joy, sorrow, love, and loss. Our existence is a journey where we navigate the complex terrain of relationships, self-discovery, and the relentless march of time.

Final Thought

The crisis of identity I faced as a five-year-old, triggered by my first encounter with mortality, laid the foundation for a lifelong exploration of the human experience. The questions that emerged that night may not have generated a plausible response, but they propelled me on a journey of self-discovery and intellectual curiosity. As a 66-year-old today, I reflect on that pivotal moment with gratitude, recognizing that it was a catalyst for personal growth that encouraged me to maximize my individual potential while cherishing every moment of my short journey!

children
1

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey5 months ago

    When I was younger I knew exactly why I was born but I was wrong Now age 65 I now wonder ,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.