Families logo

8x7

The unruly times tables

By Kadi StarmsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
8x7
Photo by Chris Liverani on Unsplash

Quite the year it’s been right? Lets roll into the new age version of the roarin’ ‘20s with a bad case of the flu, leading to a year-long pandemic causing a NATIONAL QUARANTINE, then round it all out with a “rigged election”. To top it all off adults are being considered essential or non-essential which decides their job status but our children are getting sent home with the most outlandish letters! “Principal Wilson here to inform you that all students must wear masks! If they do not abide by our new city ordained safety protocols it will be a punishable offense.” What the heck? Now my 4th grader is worried about which Colleges are going to deny her because she didn’t wear her mask durkng RECESS! Oh, but beyond that Sir Principal McWilson calls home in the middle of a regular old tuesday... for what?! “I’m so sorry to bother you, your daughters not in any trouble. She was involved in a food fight and when lined up with the other students she told THE TRUTH so she will not be punished.” Okay, so first he wastes my time with an advisory letter, but now McWilson wants to interrupt my day to let me know he in fact questions my daughters integrity?! Well let me question him this, why wasn’t I contacted even 1 of the 17 times my daughter went to the nurses office last month when she continuously gets balls thrown at her head during recess?! Why don’t you just save your breath and my time and call snotty nose Sams mom and potty mouth Petes dad to let them know that they’re terrorizing my kid every day on the playground, huh! The biggest kicker of the whole schooling system now is that our KIDS get to choose whether they would prefer in class school days or DISTANCE LEARNING. What the hell! Really? So us adults are told if were essential or not but our kids call their shots for schooling now?! After a 14 day quarantine because my kid is “exposed to the Rona” she decides we’re going to give this distance learning a shot for her upcoming semester. While quarantined shes learning her times tables. She hates it’s I hate it we both give up now shes scared shes going to be an uneducated bum under a bridge and I’m worried about “whats 8x7”... she looks at me slyly and says why do you need to know I said “just cause I need to know!” Then the thing happened. She put her headphones straight on her head, laid upside down in the arm chair and acts like I never asked. Someone please give me strength through this semester of distance learning because damn, those times tables are gonna be the death of me.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.